Hide
6 Posts

Subbuteo» Forums » Rules

Subject: Possession question from beginner rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
dim33 dim33
msg tools
I just got this game today for Christmas and my son and I read the manual and got ready for kick-off.

We are complete beginners, so my son flicked the ball straight off the pitch past my goal line.

So I take my goal kick, not kicking far from the penalty area. I then try to flick the next player to start to move the ball up the pitch but I miss.

So according to the rules my son now has possession, but all his players are up his end of the pitch and he has no hope of flicking one anywhere near the ball since we're new to the game.

It seems unfair that I have lost possession but he has no chance of actually gaining possession. Have I missed something in the rules? I've read around quite a bit but I just don't get it.

Could someone help clear up how the rules apply here please.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Magnus Berglund
Sweden
Upplands Vasby
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I haven't played Subbuteo in a looong time but I guess that your son will miss the ball with his flick, giving you possession again.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Geo
Greece
Athens
Marousi
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
bergmagn wrote:
I haven't played Subbuteo in a looong time but I guess that your son will miss the ball with his flick, giving you possession again.

That's true, but keep in mind that as you gain experience you will be able to flick your players so they follow a curved path and touch the ball even if it is hidden behind opposing players!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
dim33 dim33
msg tools
Thanks for your answers.

Will play again. I just wasn't sure that I'd understood and did not want to carry on regardless.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
tom brown
United Kingdom
Stanley
Co. Durham
flag msg tools
CROM THE INVINCIBLE, SAVIOR OF THE GRUNGE MASTERS DAUGHTER
badge