15 Posts

BANG!» Forums » Reviews

Subject: *Exhaustive* Bang! The Video Game Review -- Day 1 rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
James Cable
msg tools
* indicates editing notes

I was introduced to Bang! about 5 months ago, and I have loved it ever since the first game I Played. I recently purchased the Bullet version, so I have been able to play a couple of the expansions as well. I am by no means an expert, but I would like to think I know what I am doing when I play.

I originally purchased the video game version for Windows Vista on December 23rd, the day it was released for the PC. My first attempt at playing it resulted in me receiving an error during installation. I contacted the Bang! staff and they were prompt in their responses and stated they were working on that issue.

Today (Januaray 12), I received an email with a new version of the game to download and install. Installation worked perfectly for me. I was finally able to play the game.

Interface
When I began, I was required to do the tutorial first. This is when I encountered my first problem. During the tutorial, I was told to draw two cards. Unfortunately I had no idea where they were. I could not see the draw pile or cards in my hand. There is also a skip button that you have to click during the game that I could not see.

Because I couldn't play, I exited the tutorial. Fortunately, I was able to select the single player mode. Too bad I ran into similar problems.

Before the game starts you are shown an objectives screen. It lists the roles that are being used for the game. On this screen you select the role to read a description. When you are done, you click the skip button to move on. I could not see the cards or the skip button. I had to click randomly to find the skip button and move on to gameplay.

During the gameplay, I could not see the skip button or the cards. So I closed down the program and tried again.