United States
Eden Prairie
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Karate Chop!
mbmbmbmbmb
I know there's lots of crossover between the RPG and boardgaming sets -- in fact, I'm an avid gamer of all types. I probably migrated from RPGs to boardgames, but still RP regularly. As a freelance developer, I work where I can, and thankfully over the last year the vast majority of my contracts have been writing content for RP publishers, keeping me actively involved in RPing even though my groups' schedule shifts have been better suited to the spontaneity and discrete sessions of boardgaming.

The boardgame and RP hobbies both fill important niches in my life, and fulfill strong interaction/social needs. Of the large circle of gamers I interact with, I'd say that about 1/2 of them boardgame and RP regularly. The remaining 1/2 is split evenly between those that focus on only one of the two pasttimes.

What about y'all, the BGG community?

How many of you also enjoy RPGs?
What are your favorite RP games/genres?
Which type of gaming started you in the gaming hobby?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fran F G
Spain
Barcelona
Barcelona
flag msg tools
designer
Café Race is a race game set in a business office. The players take the role of office workers going upstairs to the first floor to get a cup of coffee who then improvise a race while they are going back downstairs… with a cup full of coffee.
badge
Someone you trust is one of us. Fnord. - Ich bin ein Spielfreak, aber ich spiele sehr selten
mbmbmbmbmb
I am a former RPG gamer...

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert C Kalajian Jr
United States
Simsbury
Connecticut
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I very much enjoy RPGs. I love fantasy, science fiction, cyber punk and horror.

Favorite have been D&D, Vampire, Wraith, and Shadowrun.

Haven't played many of these lately, since working on the HDL project and having to playtest it.