Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

7 Ages» Forums » General

Subject: Time Wrinkle/Start Empire rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bruce X
United States
Unspecified
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Since Time Wrinkle is played upon an action marker:
If it is played upon "Start Empire"
a) is the marker therefore linked totally to the first empire started therefore making the second incidence of "Start Empire" invalid?
--------OR--------
b) Can Time Wrinkle be used in this manner to Start 2 Empires in the same turn?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Harry Rowland
Australia
O'Connor
ACT
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
Re:Time Wrinkle/Start Empire
ermd (#467467),

Its played on the empire during start empire ermd so can only be used to influence the start of one empire, not 2.

Regards
Harry
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Retired Hurt

Brussels
Unspecified
msg tools
Re:Time Wrinkle/Start Empire
Harry Rowland (#467578),

Agree with you, on logical grounds. If not, "Empires Galore" would be worth less than "Time Wrinkle" because it does less.

Apparently, Time Wrinkle is especially useful for manoeuvering twice (meaning 4 times with the appropriate leader or event card), but it also has some subtle uses :
- quickly build Italian / Inca / .Australian cities or get quick cash for your Dutch / Japanese / ...
- T&P twice, which means 4 times to the Venitians, making Age 4 so short that other empires become obsolete (lose leaders, artefacts, ...)
- play Destiny, use your Re leader to pick that exposed Favour of Gods and some other cards, then play Destiny a second time

It seems that Time Wrinkle will not be needed to get a German / Greek fragment, then play artefacts on it ; it could be made in one and the same phase. Right ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bruce X
United States
Unspecified
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Time Wrinkle/Start Empire
Harry Rowland (#467578),
That was my interpretation, but just wanted clarification.
Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Harry Rowland
Australia
O'Connor
ACT
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
Re:Time Wrinkle/Start Empire
Merrimac wrote:
seems that Time Wrinkle will not be needed to get a German / Greek fragment, then play artefacts on it ; it could be made in one and the same phase. Right ?


HR> Not sure i understand the question Alain.

Regards
Harry
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Retired Hurt

Brussels
Unspecified
msg tools
Re:Time Wrinkle/Start Empire
Harry Rowland (#468370),

The question is :
IIRC, it has been said that when you get an empire in the midst of a round, it recieves the "free slot" action chit.

If that is true, you are allowed to place Civilize on your empty slot, play Empire Fragments (or Civil War or New Dynasty) at the start of the Civilize phase, get an empire, give it the Civilize counter, and get it a leader, artefacts, or remove disorder by paying in the same phase. You could even play Karma, which makes a good combo with New Dynasty then.
No need to use a second Civilize action.

Am I right ?

And are you allowed to do the following ?

Place "manoeuver" on your empty slot.
Produce with some empire, which happens to have the Forum artefact.
Use your "+1 go" marker to declare a Civilize phase, during which you Fragment an empire.
Your fragment gets the Manoeuvre action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Harry Rowland
Australia
O'Connor
ACT
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
Re:Time Wrinkle/Start Empire
No worries Alain,

to answer your questions:

Merrimac wrote:
Harry Rowland (#468370),

The question is :
IIRC, it has been said that when you get an empire in the midst of a round, it recieves the "free slot" action chit.

If that is true, you are allowed to place Civilize on your empty slot, play Empire Fragments (or Civil War or New Dynasty) at the start of the Civilize phase, get an empire, give it the Civilize counter, and get it a leader, artefacts, or remove disorder by paying in the same phase. You could even play Karma, which makes a good combo with New Dynasty then.
No need to use a second Civilize action.

Am I right ?

HR> Yes.

And are you allowed to do the following ?

Place "manoeuver" on your empty slot.
Produce with some empire, which happens to have the Forum artefact.
Use your "+1 go" marker to declare a Civilize phase, during which you Fragment an empire.
Your fragment gets the Manoeuvre action.


HR> Yes, and what a sneaky move that is if I may say so. I come last already, glad I'm not in your game.

Regards
Harry

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Retired Hurt

Brussels
Unspecified
msg tools
Re:Time Wrinkle/Start Empire
Harry Rowland (#469036),

I still prefer the idea of Fragmenting or Civil Warring an empire, making each piece of it useless, then discarding yours. If only to see their mug.

And, while speaking of sneakyly parcelling out ...

If you don't like Phenicians (or Greeks etc.) and your position at the table is such that you wouldn't get a fragment, fragment it in such a way that galleys are on one side and adjoining armies on another.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Troy Adlington
United States
Dallas
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Time Wrinkle/Start Empire
Harry Rowland (#469036),

Harry since Manouvre is after Civilise his ploy is worthless

Unless he time rippled Manouvre so that gets one at the end. Of course he has enabled all other players manouvres to go twice!


 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Harry Rowland
Australia
O'Connor
ACT
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
Re:Time Wrinkle/Start Empire
Troymk1 (#469613),

Alain's doing it during production Troy using the forum power to do a civilise out of order. It is a very specialised case but sneaky none the less.

Regards
harry
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Retired Hurt

Brussels
Unspecified
msg tools
Re:Time Wrinkle/Start Empire
Harry Rowland (#469698),

And the same should be true using the Macedonian event (can't remember the fabulous name) . It is clearly stated that the additional action is played immediately, even if out of turn.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.