13 Posts

BoardGameGeek» Forums » Gaming Related » Do It Yourself

Subject: Monopoly Copyrighted? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Claus Stauffenberg
msg tools
Hi guys,

I was wondering if there is a particular copyright on the mechanics of the old Monopoly games - like how close does a game have to be before it's an outright rip-off? The reason for this is I've always been fascinated with the thought of a Gallipolopoly as suggested by the Simpsons and I've thought of a way to make it (Monopoly style game focusing on the 1915 Gallipoli campaign) but I was wondering if it would violate copyright.

Thanks in advance for any thoughts!
Walkure
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cody H
United States
Denver
Colorado
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm no expert, but it would appear that making a *blank*opoly game is legally shaky ground. My advice would be not to try to sell it.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Hunter Shelburne
United States
San Marcos
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Check out Weaponsgrade Tabletop on Youtube!
mbmbmbmbmb
I know that Texas State University recently made Bobcat-opoly, and its not an officially licensed variant like Transformers Monopoly and the like, and the they have been selling it about a year and a half now in the local bookstores. Not sure if they had to do licensing, but the box is most assuredly offbrand (and font is way off). I know a few of the business club that actually made the game and marketed it, I'll ask them what exactly they had to go through for that.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Clem Fandango
New Zealand
WELLINGTON
flag msg tools
Stephen, it's Clem Fandango. Can you hear me?
badge
YES I can hear you Clem Fandango!
mbmbmbmbmb
Walkure72044 wrote:
Hi guys,