Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Merchants & Marauders» Forums » Rules

Subject: Pirate Truce rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matthias Staber
Germany
Boeblingen
Baden-Wuerttemberg
flag msg tools
mbmb
"Pirate Truce" question:

- are player-pirates allowed to attack non-player-pirates?

- are player-pirates allowed to attack each other?

Thanks,

Matthias
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Scott Lewis
United States
Thornton
Colorado
flag msg tools
NFHS Football & Basketball
badge
Dread Our Coming, Suffer Our Presence, Embrace Our Glory (Solonavi War Cry)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
All Pirate Truce does is prevent NPC pirates from attacking Pirate players. It doesn't affect players ability to attack the pirates or each other at all.

In the latter case, the rules actually do go on to indicate you definitely CAN attack other player pirates, because if you sink another player pirate, you get a bounty for that player based on the highest bounty they have that you don't also have a bounty for! (Which, if you couldn't attack as a pirate, would be unnecessary wording).
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony
United States
Lawton
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The above poster is correct, I think the most relevant rules are the following 3 references all from page 11 of the rules:


Quote:
Pirate Truce: NPC Pirate ships will no longer attack you
(see “Hunt Priority” on page 13).


Only mentions a restriction on NPC pirates and not on players

Quote:
Example: You have just defeated a Pirate player
with 3 Bounties from Spain and 1 from England.
Claiming the 15 Gold reward from Spain would
be nice, but since you have a Bounty from Spain
yourself, you can only choose to claim the 5 Gold
reward from England.


This is a specific example of a pirate player getting paid for attacking another pirate player.

Quote:
Defeating the Pirate Sloop earns
you 5 Gold and defeating the Pirate Frigate earns you
15 Gold. Only non-pirates can claim such a reward.


This is not as specific as the above reference for player pirates but the last sentence implies to me that a pirate can defeat a NPC pirate but may not claim the cash reward for doing so.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.