Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
23 Posts

Lords of Vegas» Forums » Rules

Subject: What's happen when you build and have no dice to put on?? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Israel Cuadra
Spain
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
The second session we play, there was a moment when i had empty owned lots (without casino tiles) and at the moment to build a casino there, i was run out of dice!!

Can i change a dice from other casino tile of my propiety to the new tile?

Can i build a casino tile without a dice?

What's was first? The chicken or the egg??

Thank you

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
quohog the great
United States
Tennessee
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
xquadra wrote:
The second session we play, there was a moment when i had empty owned lots (without casino tiles) and at the moment to build a casino there, i was run out of dice!!

Can i change a dice from other casino tile of my propiety to the new tile?

Can i build a casino tile without a dice?

What's was first? The chicken or the egg??

Thank you



When you have no dice and one is needed you take one of your choice that is on the board and place it where its needed. Though it takes value of what it is supposed to be and not its current value.

you can't build a casino withoug a dice

and it think it was the chicken
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Garry Rice
United States
Perkasie
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You may move a die from another casino into the new tile you just built. But be sure you leave the tile on the board...it still counts as room in the casino.

This is in the rules, but its very easy to miss...we missed it our first play.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nigel Buckle
United Kingdom
Thornton Heath
Croydon
flag msg tools
designer
NSKN are publishing my next game :)
badge
Omega Centauri Published in 2014
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It's covered in the rules (page 3):

Quote:
Available Dice: If all of your dice are already on the board and you place a new tile (build or sprawl), you must remove one of your dice and place it in the new tile. The resulting tile without a die remains on the board No one owns a tile without a die.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Leber
Canada
Orillia
ON
flag msg tools
Yin
badge
Yang
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Likewise, if you draw a card that tells you to claim a square, and that square is owned by another player (due to an earlier "sprawl") you must abandon another tile and move the die to the new square.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorie Von Ohlen
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
so then what does the other player do with the die that they already have in that square? Does it go back into their pile?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Leber
Canada
Orillia
ON
flag msg tools
Yin
badge
Yang
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
silverisis wrote:
so then what does the other player do with the die that they already have in that square? Does it go back into their pile?


Yes. Also, if that square was previously "reorganized", changing the value of the die, your new die keeps the same value the previous player had.... and you disregard the number shown on the board.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Salamone
United States
Billerica
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Aggravating people worldwide since 1964
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
garry_rice wrote:
You may move a die from another casino into the new tile you just built. But be sure you leave the tile on the board...it still counts as room in the casino.

This is in the rules, but its very easy to miss...we missed it our first play.


Do you really need to remove a die from another casino? The rules just say a die from somewhere else on the board. The reason I ask is last night my wife and I played this game for the first time in about a year and this issue came up. My wife drew a card that allowed her to expand an existing casino. She had no dice left and did not want to remove a die from one of ther other casinos, so she simply moved a die from within the casino she was expanding to the new tile within the same casino. We agreed this was okay because the rules just say to move another die, but don't say it needs to be from a different casino.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Leber
Canada
Orillia
ON
flag msg tools
Yin
badge
Yang
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
joe_salamone wrote:
garry_rice wrote:
You may move a die from another casino into the new tile you just built. But be sure you leave the tile on the board...it still counts as room in the casino.

This is in the rules, but its very easy to miss...we missed it our first play.


Do you really need to remove a die from another casino? The rules just say a die from somewhere else on the board. The reason I ask is last night my wife and I played this game for the first time in about a year and this issue came up. My wife drew a card that allowed her to expand an existing casino. She had no dice left and did not want to remove a die from one of ther other casinos, so she simply moved a die from within the casino she was expanding to the new tile within the same casino. We agreed this was okay because the rules just say to move another die, but don't say it needs to be from a different casino.



That's an interesting question actually... it even took me a second to register what you were asking. I've always just assumed it was "take a die from somewhere else".

I'm pretty sure we would have allowed someone to move a die from anywhere (without considering the rules). Strictly speaking, the rules seem clear, but I wonder if they meant "move a die from another casino tile"?

Hmmm...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Salamone
United States
Billerica
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Aggravating people worldwide since 1964
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Holmes108 wrote:
joe_salamone wrote:
garry_rice wrote:
You may move a die from another casino into the new tile you just built. But be sure you leave the tile on the board...it still counts as room in the casino.

This is in the rules, but its very easy to miss...we missed it our first play.


Do you really need to remove a die from another casino? The rules just say a die from somewhere else on the board. The reason I ask is last night my wife and I played this game for the first time in about a year and this issue came up. My wife drew a card that allowed her to expand an existing casino. She had no dice left and did not want to remove a die from one of ther other casinos, so she simply moved a die from within the casino she was expanding to the new tile within the same casino. We agreed this was okay because the rules just say to move another die, but don't say it needs to be from a different casino.



That's an interesting question actually... it even took me a second to register what you were asking. I've always just assumed it was "take a die from somewhere else".

I'm pretty sure we would have allowed someone to move a die from anywhere (without considering the rules). Strictly speaking, the rules seem clear, but I wonder if they meant "move a die from another casino tile"?

Hmmm...


Logically, it somehow seemed "wrong" to move a die from an existing tile to a new tile inside the same casino. However, the rules don't forbid it, so we allow it (or we will, until we get an official ruling that forbids it).

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Holmes108 wrote:
Likewise, if you draw a card that tells you to claim a square, and that square is owned by another player (due to an earlier "sprawl") you must abandon another tile and move the die to the new square.


Is there an official ruling somewhere on this? It's not in the faq, and I didn't see it any of the other threads.

The rules quote says that you must move your dice when you build or sprawl. During the Draw phase, I'm not building or sprawling, as those are actions done later in the Play phase.

Quote:
Available Dice: If all of your dice are already on the board and you place a new tile (build or sprawl), you must remove one of your dice and place it in the new tile. The resulting tile without a die remains on the board No one owns a tile without a die.


It could be argued 3 ways:

1) I must move the dice like in building/sprawling.
2) I cannot move the dice, since I'm not building/sprawling.
3) I may move dice if I wish, but I don't have to.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Salamone
United States
Billerica
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Aggravating people worldwide since 1964
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
UnknownParkerBrother wrote:
Holmes108 wrote:
Likewise, if you draw a card that tells you to claim a square, and that square is owned by another player (due to an earlier "sprawl") you must abandon another tile and move the die to the new square.


Is there an official ruling somewhere on this? It's not in the faq, and I didn't see it any of the other threads.



I don't have the rules in front of me, but when you draw a card, you claim the square by placing a chip, not a die. You would then need to "buy" the space to place a die, which you would move from somewhere else on the board if you had no dice remaining.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Justin Davis
United States
Sewickley
PA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe that they are talking about the situation where someone else sprawled into a location whose card had not yet came up. When the card finally did come up, you would then take over that tile of the casino with your own die.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andy Leber
Canada
Orillia
ON
flag msg tools
Yin
badge
Yang
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
UnknownParkerBrother wrote:

Is there an official ruling somewhere on this? It's not in the faq, and I didn't see it any of the other threads.



In my rulebook, on page 2, under "On Every Turn", it says (emphasis mine):

Quote:
Take over your lot

If the lot specified on your card is empty, place 1 of your player markers on the lot - you now own it.

If the lot already has a tile on it (due to "sprawling", see page 3), replace the die on the tile with 1 of your dice - keeping the same value. If the tile has no die, place your die with the value printed on the board.


I would think that if this were optional, it would say something like "you may replace the die with one of your own". Meaning we would then defer to what happens when no dice are available, which I believe we agree is that it must be taken from elsewhere.

I suppose this does take a mild assumption, (the assumption that taking over an existing tile is not an exception to the "take a die from elsewhere" rule), but in my mind it seems quite clear.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Joe Salamone
United States
Billerica
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
badge
Aggravating people worldwide since 1964
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ruskicowboy wrote:
I believe that they are talking about the situation where someone else sprawled into a location whose card had not yet came up. When the card finally did come up, you would then take over that tile of the casino with your own die.


Yeah. I thought the procedure was the same as when you turned a card for an area where no sprawling had occurred, but someone quoted the rules after I posted my comment. This is what I get for trying to put my 2 cents in when I haven't played the game in awhile and don't have the rules in front of me. I'll shut up now. gulp

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Holmes108 wrote:
I would think that if this were optional, it would say something like "you may replace the die with one of your own".


Hmm, you're probably right. Seems weird that the game would force you to move a die if you had everything set up perfectly, though.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Harmen Dirksen
Netherlands
Ede GLD
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Can you sell an empty casino to an other player and let him place an die in it.
Or is that tile considered ownerless.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Bobson
United Kingdom
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
NoHarmDone wrote:
Can you sell an empty casino to an other player and let him place an die in it.
Or is that tile considered ownerless.


There's nothing stopping you from trading it. When you remove the die from that casino tile, it's effectively abandoned, so you wouldn't then be able to sell/trade it, but I'm sure plenty of people would pay to get a die in the tile at the point of you abandoning that tile, especially if its a 5/6.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ted L
United States
St Petersburg
Florida
flag msg tools
The rules state that you may not trade tiles, only dice.

Since there is no die to be traded in an empty casino, then no you may not sell it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
mike m
United States
palisades park
nj
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
binaryphile wrote:
The rules state that you may not trade tiles, only dice.

Since there is no die to be traded in an empty casino, then no you may not sell it.

it's rather rules-lawyer-ish, but one could argue that you are trading the die before you abandoned it. The counter argument is that once the card is drawn, corresponding actions like occupying the space on the card happen simultaneously.

It just feels like one of those edge cases that requires a ruling but may never get one due to being a minor issue.

Most people would probably play it as you suggested, which is that the casino is empty already so the space cannot be traded, but very competitive players might call foul if not agreed upon first. Esp as it would likely happen as the game is reaching the end, and tension is rising.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John K
United States
Ellensburg
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
binaryphile wrote:
The rules state that you may not trade tiles, only dice.

Since there is no die to be traded in an empty casino, then no you may not sell it.


Agree with this 100% since at that point there is no owner for that tile!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Kahan
United States
Annandale
VA
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
bucklen_uk wrote:
It's covered in the rules (page 3):

Quote:
Available Dice: If all of your dice are already on the board and you place a new tile (build or sprawl), you must remove one of your dice and place it in the new tile. The resulting tile without a die remains on the board No one owns a tile without a die.


Am I correct that if the now ownerless tile was part of a multi-tile casino, it remains part of that casino (for size points)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kirk Roberts
United States
Jonesborough (will trade by mail)
TN
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Oboewan wrote:
bucklen_uk wrote:
It's covered in the rules (page 3):

Quote:
Available Dice: If all of your dice are already on the board and you place a new tile (build or sprawl), you must remove one of your dice and place it in the new tile. The resulting tile without a die remains on the board No one owns a tile without a die.


Am I correct that if the now ownerless tile was part of a multi-tile casino, it remains part of that casino (for size points)?

Yes
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.