Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Bear Trap or Quagmire forces win? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Eric Engstrom
United States
Mount Prospect
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
badge
https://greydolphingames.com/
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Let's say the USSR has 8 cards and the China Card, and the US has 8 cards. The headline phase has passed: it is now actions. The USSR has 1 score card and 7 cards of ops 2 or higher.

1USSR: Uses China card
US: Plays bear trap.

2USSR: Sacs card #1 or ops 2 or higher. Fails roll.
US: Plays card.

3USSR:Sacs card #2 or ops 2 or higher. Fails roll.
US: Plays card.

4USSR:Sacs card #3 or ops 2 or higher. Fails roll.
US: Plays card.

5USSR:Sacs card #4 or ops 2 or higher. Fails roll.
US: Plays card.

6USSR:Sacs card #5 or ops 2 or higher. Fails roll.
US: Plays card.

7USSR:Sacs card #6 or ops 2 or higher. Fails roll.
US: Plays card.



I know it's extremely bad luck, but it can happen (especially if Bear trap is sprung later in round).

The USSR is now holding a score card. Do they auto-lose? Is this the correct interpretation of a possible Bear Trap outcome?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Железный комиссар
United States
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Bear Trap and Quagmire cannot force a player to hold a scoring card.

TS Collected Rulings wrote:
The player may play a scoring card in lieu of a discard (and thefore foregoing the die roll) if discarding would force the player to violate the "May Not Be Held" stipulation of scoring cards.


Collected Rulings
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Eric Engstrom
United States
Mount Prospect
Illinois
flag msg tools
designer
badge
https://greydolphingames.com/
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Excellent! That makes a lot more sense.

Almost got screwed as USSR, but I made the die roll on the 2nd try with 2 score cards left and 3 action rounds. Bleh round, but I was so far into the point that I was still doing ok at the end.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.