Subject: programming a card game rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
benny Margalit
Israel
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Hi all, my name is benny and i'm a student of computer engineering.
i work on a project now that implement artificial intelligence in card game called whist. it's 4 player trick taken game.
i need some help please at the part of the game tree building.
how should i build the tree if it's 4 player and only 2 like tic tac too or chess ???
i write in c++.
thanks a lot
benny

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jim Cote
United States
Maine
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I don't see why you would need a tree structure for a whist AI. You can't do alpha-beta pruning logic when you don't know all the info (like chess). What you can do is keep track of what you know (played cards), and what you can infer (from what wasn't played), etc. This should only require a simple array.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jorge Montero
United States
St Louis
Missouri
flag msg tools
badge
I'll take Manhattan in a garbage bag. With Latin written on it that says "It's hard to give a shit these days"
mbmbmbmbmb
ekted wrote:
I don't see why you would need a tree structure for a whist AI. You can't do alpha-beta pruning logic when you don't know all the info (like chess). What you can do is keep track of what you know (played cards), and what you can infer (from what wasn't played), etc. This should only require a simple array.

You could complicate things a little more by trying to figure out who has ran out/running out of which suit, the expected highest card each player has on each suit, and a bunch of other stuff humans think of when playing trick taking games.