Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: event card for both sides rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Canada
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
if you play an card for the ops points, and its a card that is an event for both sides, does the event trigger for your opponent?

thx,
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Conor Hickey
Ireland
Dublin
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
No it doesn't, you can play an event which is 'neutral' for the Ops alone, without triggering it. It's only triggered if it is for your opponent.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Smith
United Kingdom
Grantham
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No, Only opponent's events are triggered along with ops, and the player playing the card may choose when the event occurs, before or after the ops.
That is, as USSR player playing White Star cards would trigger the event for the USA player when played for ops, and likewise, as USA player playing Red Star cards would trigger USSR events. For cards of your own colour, (White for USA and Red for USSR) and White/Red mix star cards, only the ops value is played, and the events are ignored.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Pete Hooper
United States
Rockford
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
iansmithksa wrote:
No, Only opponent's events are triggered along with ops, and the player playing the card may choose when the event occurs, before or after the ops.
That is, as USSR player playing White Star cards would trigger the event for the USA player when played for ops, and likewise, as USA player playing Red Star cards would trigger USSR events. For cards of your own colour, (White for USA and Red for USSR) and White/Red mix star cards, only the ops value is played, and the events are ignored.


Clarification: For cards of your own color, or half-and-half, the player chooses whether to play it for event or ops.

*EDIT* That's not to say you're wrong, but the way you worded it ("only the ops value is played, and the events are ignored") could potentially be confusing.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.