12 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about melee, magic and ranged attacks. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Michael D
Australia
flag msg tools
This may seem like a silly question but please bear with me im still new to descent . I played my first game a couple of days back with some mates and in the first 5 mins of the game we were already arguing .I just wanted to know that if a hero attacks a monster which is in an 'adjacent' space can they perform a ranged or magic attack (even though the monster is adjacent), or must the combat be resolved as a melee attack?? (in our case the hero had a magic staff equipped which was a 'magic' type weapon and since the hero was adjacent to the monster we assumed that the hero must use their fists as they had no melee type weapons, which was one red die and a black power die because one of their traits was 'melee') is this right??

Cheers!!!

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wade Fox
United States
Lakewood
Colorado
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I am fairly certain that you can attack someone who is adjacent to you with a magic or ranged weapon. They don't have a minimum range.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Try to not read things into the rules that aren't there. The rules are very clear about making attacks, and there is nothing in there that says you cannot do a ranged/magic attack from 1 space away (i.e. adjacent). You very much can make a range 1 attack with Ranged or Magic attacks. It is still 1 space away, so if you for some reason roll 0 range, you'll have missed.