Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Arkham Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can I close gate after OW encounter rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Luc Jacobs
Belgium
Lichtaart
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sudden doubts:

I draw OW encounter: return to Arkham

The Arkham encounter phase is passed, can I still close / seal
Rules also say: "... when returning you can make attempt to seal ..."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jefferson Krogh
United States
San Leandro
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Nope. Take an explored token, and wait until next turn's Arkham Encounters phase. Then you can try to close it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brad Miller
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kobold Curry Chef wrote:
Nope. Take an explored token, and wait until next turn's Arkham Encounters phase. Then you can try to close it.


WHAT FUN!!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luc Jacobs
Belgium
Lichtaart
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OK, then I read: "During next encounter phase"

This way, it's no benefit to return from the 2nd OW space and there's a terrible monster waiting for you.

I had this particular case, where I planned to adjust skill's next phase and suddenly I return faster than planned!

No I take the explorer token, don't have to fight the terrible monster yet.
I can't close!
NEXT Turn: I have to combat the monster during movement!
Since I only don't have to fight the turn I return, but have to, the next turn or don't I ?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tibs
United States
Amherst
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Iliamel wrote:
This way, it's no benefit to return from the 2nd OW space and there's a terrible monster waiting for you.

That's right.

Quote:
NEXT Turn: I have to combat the monster during movement!
Since I only don't have to fight the turn I return, but have to, the next turn or don't I ?

Yes, next turn you will have to fight the monster. You're only given a "free pass" on the turn you returned. You seem to understand that this turn has expired.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Luc Jacobs
Belgium
Lichtaart
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
SO I sneaked the damn thing! 1 Clue and roll 5 laugh
Then seal with an elder sign! Than probably have to sneak again, next turn!angry Ha, NOOO, because I became "INSANE" yuk
So I wake up in the Asylum cool
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Anderson
United States
Moorhead
Minnesota
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yeah, getting a "Return to Arkham" encounter in the second OW space is often a curse, rather than a blessing. Such is Arkham!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.