Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Combat Commander: Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Question about Moving Together (O21.2) rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Josiah Miller
United States
Arlington
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I seem to be stuck on this. If a Leader is activated and subsequently activates a Squad in the same hex, are they required to move together as a stack? It's my understand that doing so would put them in jeapardy of Op Fire and possibly ending the movement prematurely if one or the other unit breaks.

Can't the leader move, say, 3 hexes, then the squad moves a number of hexes and end up in the same place stacked again? Why move them together as 1 stack?

For such a simple rule, I'm having trouble understanding it's necessity or tactical value.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It is NOT required that they move together but it IS required that IF they move together, they must stop together. So IF they move together, and one is hit and must stop, so will the other.

If you move them separately, your opponent will get more shots, burn more cards, and they will still both have to roll once they're in the same hex anyway. And often, you'll want to move the unit with the leader so that it can use the Leader Bonus to move farther. For example, if you have a unit with a "2" Leader, you could move them together 6 but the squad only 4 by itself.

Make sense?
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Pardoe
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
No they don't have to move together.

But there are benefits to doing so if you want them to end up in the same hex...

(1) The leader's command rating modifies the movement of any units stacked with him, so perhaps the units can move further. (The command rating benefit doesn't apply the instant the leader and unit are not stacked together.)

(2) If you move the leader three hexes, it could be fired on by OpFire in all three hexes. Then when you move the unit, they could also be fired on by OpFire. And when they "join" the leader, the OpFire will target not only the moving squad, but the leader also who now suffers a second attack. Moving them together avoids this.

(3) The leader's command rating modifes the morale of the units stacked with him, so if they are targeted for OpFire, it is harder to break the stacked units.

So you need to balance the risks/rewards. Is it worth subjecting the leader to two OpFire attacks, reduced movement and morale for the unit all for the sake of preventing the entire stack from stopping?
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Josiah Miller
United States
Arlington
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Quote:
IF they move together, they must stop together. So IF they move together, and one is hit and must stop, so will the other.


Undertood this part. Thanks so much for the strategic reasons for doing so. It's very clear now.

Hope you guys are around for a while. I may be dropping a few more questions into the rules forums if my searches come up dry.

Loving the game, just ironing out the wrinkles from our first game.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I'll be here through the weekend. Please tip your waitress! laugh
3 
 Thumb up
0.07
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Garramone
United States
Nashville
Tennessee
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, movement in CC is kind of different than in ASL, where you move one lone unit at a time to draw off defensive fire before you actually move the units you REALLY wanted to in the first place. It just doesn't pay to move units in this way in CC most of the time.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Pardoe
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
But it can be done....

Play one move order, activate a few units which draw OpFire.
Play a second move order, move the units you really wanted to move.
The units that previous OpFired cannot be activated again for OpFire on this move order - so you have successfully drawn off the defensive fire.

Yes, one needs to have the cards in hand, but the more mobile postures (attack and recon) will have more cards in hand compared to a defender, so are more likely to do this sort of tactic.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.