Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
10 Posts

Yomi» Forums » Rules

Subject: Combo questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
William Baldwin
United States
Springfield
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
1) Does the throw or attack card's (that sets up the combo) dots count in the combo?

2) Does the attack or throw card that allow a combo count as part of the combo?

3) How do you count the dots (do the black dots add up to the character threshold or do the non-black dots add up to the threshold)?

4) Does the starting move that allows the combo ignore the "combo text" and just start the combo, or should you heed the "can't combo" and "ender" warnings as this ends the attack phase.

5) Couldn't a game with all this development time and such a simple game have a clearer rulebook?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mikko Karvonen
Finland
Tampere
Tampere
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Yes.

2. Yes.

3. Black dots+white dots=your total combo rating. Black dots=the combo rating of the move used. So just count the black dots on different cards until you reach your character's combo rating. The white dots are there just to visualize how much of your total rating the move takes.

4. I'm not quite sure what kind of situation you are referring to, but as a rule you cannot play anything after an Ender or Can't combo card.

5. Yes.

Hope this helps.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kovács György
Hungary
Budapest
flag msg tools
mbmb
1) Yes.
2) Yes.
3) Add up black dots. (non-black + black dots are the character threshold)
4) That text is not ignored, the "can't combo" property wouldn't even make sense otherwise
5) Yes, but that wouldn't fit alongside the decks

Finnish ninjas, what the hell.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
MGS
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Warhammer: Diskwars
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1) and 2), yes.

3) black dots.

4) They end the attack phase even if they are the starting/combat card.

5) amen.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mikko Karvonen
Finland
Tampere
Tampere
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pktzer0 wrote:
Finnish ninjas, what the hell.


What? Who told you that?!?

ninja
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Baldwin
United States
Springfield
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
In regards to number 5 -

Note to self:

Never use attack as a describer in the game book as well as a game term.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guido Gloor
Switzerland
Ostermundigen
Bern
flag msg tools
The statement below is false.
badge
The statement above is correct.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Willi B wrote:
Never use attack as a describer in the game book as well as a game term.

I think "attack" is one of the clearer words in Yomi, it's really "combo" that the rules make a mess of
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeffrey Speer
United States
Fargo
North Dakota
flag msg tools
Gravity Falls
badge
Remember, reality is an illusion, the universe is a hologram, buy gold, bye!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I thought the rules were pretty clear on this - cards that say "Can't Combo" can't combo, and you can't play other attacks after one that says Ender. I don't see how that is unclear, or where the idea came from you could ignore that text. I guess I just don't see it.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Guido Gloor
Switzerland
Ostermundigen
Bern
flag msg tools
The statement below is false.
badge
The statement above is correct.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Kaworu17 wrote:
I thought the rules were pretty clear on this - cards that say "Can't Combo" can't combo, and you can't play other attacks after one that says Ender. I don't see how that is unclear, or where the idea came from you could ignore that text. I guess I just don't see it.

Yeah, the thing that confused me like that and ultimately prompted me to collect a glossary can essentially be boiled down to this:

A card that says "can't combo" results in having played a combo of one card.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
William Baldwin
United States
Springfield
Ohio
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
The inclusion of the first throw or attack as part of a combo was vague at best.

A single attack or throw, by definition of the word "combo", does not a combo make.

My problem with the word attack comes from the rulebook not using a separate word for attack when defining "an attack or throw".

Instead, the rules of the game use the word attack which confuses needlessly.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.