Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Forbidden Island» Forums » Rules

Subject: Discard vs. Remove from the game rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
E Butler
United States
Hughesville
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Just to clarify



Sunken land cards - Remove, correct?


Treasure cards discarded to retrieve a treasure - Discard, but remain in play. Correct?


Treasure cards of 'found' treasure that were not used to claim the treasure - Discard, but remain in play. Correct?


Helicopter / Sandbags - ?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Varan
United States
Cedar Park
Texas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I believe you're correct on all accounts. Helicopters and Sandbags are also discarded, but remain in play.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Klaus Brune
United States
Torrance
California
flag msg tools
badge
HEY! That TICKLES!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
moonglum01 wrote:
Just to clarify

Treasure cards of 'found' treasure that were not used to claim the treasure - Discard, but remain in play. Correct?



Hmmm... we've been playing that treasure cards of found treasure remain in your hand - can't immediately discard them, only when you're over the hand limit of 5.
7 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Jensen
United States
Layton
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gruumsh wrote:
moonglum01 wrote:
Just to clarify

Treasure cards of 'found' treasure that were not used to claim the treasure - Discard, but remain in play. Correct?



Hmmm... we've been playing that treasure cards of found treasure remain in your hand - can't immediately discard them, only when you're over the hand limit of 5.


How does that work with the race to get one or two treasures claimed before the first reshuffle so that you have enough spent treasure cards to dilute the Waters Rise cards?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
E Butler
United States
Hughesville
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gruumsh wrote:
moonglum01 wrote:
Just to clarify

Treasure cards of 'found' treasure that were not used to claim the treasure - Discard, but remain in play. Correct?



Hmmm... we've been playing that treasure cards of found treasure remain in your hand - can't immediately discard them, only when you're over the hand limit of 5.


Yes, I meant to say, when discarded they go into the discard pile, but are not removed from play. As I understand it you can only discard a card from your hand when you go over 5.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Klaus Brune
United States
Torrance
California
flag msg tools
badge
HEY! That TICKLES!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
quixotequest wrote:
Gruumsh wrote:
moonglum01 wrote:
Just to clarify

Treasure cards of 'found' treasure that were not used to claim the treasure - Discard, but remain in play. Correct?



Hmmm... we've been playing that treasure cards of found treasure remain in your hand - can't immediately discard them, only when you're over the hand limit of 5.


How does that work with the race to get one or two treasures claimed before the first reshuffle so that you have enough spent treasure cards to dilute the Waters Rise cards?


I'm not quite sure I understand the question... collect a set of four, grab the treasure and discard, preferably before the reshuffle, so there are more treasure cards in the reshuffled deck now, right? The fact that you can't easily get rid of a now useless treasure card for a possible SECOND reshuffle can be annoying, yes. But it also makes the game harder. Playing that "useless" treasure cards just get discarded immediately would make the game too easy. It's that possible third time through the treasure deck when everyone's got a hand full of five cards that makes for some tenseness.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry Welborn
United States
Anderson
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Clemson Tigers #1
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gruumsh wrote:
moonglum01 wrote:
Just to clarify

Treasure cards of 'found' treasure that were not used to claim the treasure - Discard, but remain in play. Correct?



Hmmm... we've been playing that treasure cards of found treasure remain in your hand - can't immediately discard them, only when you're over the hand limit of 5.


This is the correct way to play.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryan Jensen
United States
Layton
Utah
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Gruumsh wrote:
quixotequest wrote:
Gruumsh wrote:
moonglum01 wrote:
Just to clarify

Treasure cards of 'found' treasure that were not used to claim the treasure - Discard, but remain in play. Correct?



Hmmm... we've been playing that treasure cards of found treasure remain in your hand - can't immediately discard them, only when you're over the hand limit of 5.


How does that work with the race to get one or two treasures claimed before the first reshuffle so that you have enough spent treasure cards to dilute the Waters Rise cards?


I'm not quite sure I understand the question... collect a set of four, grab the treasure and discard, preferably before the reshuffle, so there are more treasure cards in the reshuffled deck now, right? The fact that you can't easily get rid of a now useless treasure card for a possible SECOND reshuffle can be annoying, yes. But it also makes the game harder. Playing that "useless" treasure cards just get discarded immediately would make the game too easy. It's that possible third time through the treasure deck when everyone's got a hand full of five cards that makes for some tenseness.


Larry Welborn wrote:


This is the correct way to play.


Harder for some variety to the game's tension for shits n giggles, but not required discard rules for play. The US rules under "Capture a Treasure" states, "You may, for 1 action, capture a treasure by discarding 4 matching Treasure cards from your hand if your pawn is on either corresponding island tile: ..."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Larry Welborn
United States
Anderson
South Carolina
flag msg tools
badge
Clemson Tigers #1
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
quixotequest wrote:
Gruumsh wrote:
quixotequest wrote:
Gruumsh wrote:
moonglum01 wrote:
Just to clarify

Treasure cards of 'found' treasure that were not used to claim the treasure - Discard, but remain in play. Correct?



Hmmm... we've been playing that treasure cards of found treasure remain in your hand - can't immediately discard them, only when you're over the hand limit of 5.


How does that work with the race to get one or two treasures claimed before the first reshuffle so that you have enough spent treasure cards to dilute the Waters Rise cards?


I'm not quite sure I understand the question... collect a set of four, grab the treasure and discard, preferably before the reshuffle, so there are more treasure cards in the reshuffled deck now, right? The fact that you can't easily get rid of a now useless treasure card for a possible SECOND reshuffle can be annoying, yes. But it also makes the game harder. Playing that "useless" treasure cards just get discarded immediately would make the game too easy. It's that possible third time through the treasure deck when everyone's got a hand full of five cards that makes for some tenseness.


Larry Welborn wrote:


This is the correct way to play.


Harder for some variety to the game's tension for shits n giggles, but not required discard rules for play. The US rules under "Capture a Treasure" states, "You may, for 1 action, capture a treasure by discarding 4 matching Treasure cards from your hand if your pawn is on either corresponding island tile: ..."


That's not what is being discussed. The question is whether you can immediately discard treasure cards of a type that has already been captured. I see nothing in the rules that say you can do that.
6 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Sean Boyll
United States
Kuna
Idaho
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
moonglum01 wrote:
Sunken land cards - Remove, correct?

Yes

moonglum01 wrote:
Treasure cards discarded to retrieve a treasure - Discard, but remain in play. Correct?

Yes

moonglum01 wrote:
Treasure cards of 'found' treasure that were not used to claim the treasure - Discard, but remain in play. Correct?

The only time you can discard them would be to stay under the hand limit.

moonglum01 wrote:
Helicopter / Sandbags - ?

discarded but not removed from play. Other wise no one would use the helicopter cards because they are needed for the win and would never come back.

By the way; If one player is a pilot, why would he need a helicopter card to leave the island?
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
H J

London
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mb
Perhaps think of the helicopter card as representing a fuel can and flying manual.

Only the pilot knows how to fly, so he doesn't need the manual, but he needs the fuel. Everyone else needs both.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.