Popular Tags: Math-Trade-Info [+] [View All]
Mark Lim
United States
Beaumont
California
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm new to trading but I ship packages for a living. What inspired me to do this was when I traded for a game and the person paid ($4.90) to ship Parcel Post which takes 7 Days when they could have shipped First Class ($3.26) which only would have taken 3 days.

It just drives me nuts to know they paid more for my game to come 4 days late!

The real trick to shipping is knowing how to print shipping labels from Paypal or USPS.com.

Why?

- You get a discount for printing online
- You get free Delivery Confirmation (Normally $0.70-0.80)
- You can fudge the numbers by a couple ounces

The difference between 1 Pound and 1.00001 Pound is almost $4. If you print your label online and tell them your package is 1 Pound and it's actually 1.1 they won't care. The weight difference isn't going to crash the plane or make the mail truck swerve uncontrollably causing it to burst into flames.

When is Priority more reasonable than Parcel Post?

- Close Distance
- Less than 6 Pounds

The price difference between Priority (1-3 Days) and Parcel Post (3-10 Days) is much less when the shipping distance is closer. It's usually about $0.50 - $3.00 and might sometimes actually be cheaper because you get a free $0.80 delivery confirmation when you print Priority Online + free pick up.

Parcel Post takes on average 2-5 days longer to ship, no free delivery confirmation, and no free pick up.

I won't even get into the gas you save for not driving to the post office and the value of having your package come in 4 days sooner reducing the risk of it getting lost or damaged.

Anyway, here's a chart I made complete with average weight for popular games and shipping costs for Near (California to Nevada) and Far. (California to Maine)

--------------------------------------
Shipping Weight
Bohnanza - 14.4 Ounces - (6 x 3 x 1)
Pandemic - 2.4 Pounds - (12 x 8.8 x 1.8)