Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Stone Age» Forums » Rules

Subject: First play and two rules questions... rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Heather Walters

Peninsula
Ohio
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I really liked this game, I think it is going to be a new favorite. But I have 3 questions.

First - When paying for the civilization cards you can pick what resources you want to pay (wood, clay, stone, or gold) but if you are taking the second card do you have to pay two DIFFERENT types of resources? If taking the third do you have to pay three different types?

Second, I could not figure out the graphic under the civ cards on the player board. We scored 5 points for each Civ card (+1 for extras), and then multiplied total number of specialist people by there thing (tools, building, food track) etc.

Finally, are you supposed to score all buildings as you go? We scored the ? buildings as we did and saved the others for the end.

Thanks!
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tony Fanchi
United States
Saint Paul
Minnesota
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Geeky_Farmer wrote:
I really liked this game, I think it is going to be a new favorite. But I have 3 questions.

First - When paying for the civilization cards you can pick what resources you want to pay (wood, clay, stone, or gold) but if you are taking the second card do you have to pay two DIFFERENT types of resources? If taking the third do you have to pay three different types?

No, they can be any type, even the same type.

Geeky_Farmer wrote:
Second, I could not figure out the graphic under the civ cards on the player board. We scored 5 points for each Civ card (+1 for extras), and then multiplied total number of specialist people by there thing (tools, building, food track) etc.

Civ cards are worth a number of points equal to the number of different cards squared. So, if you have two different cards, you get 4 (2*2) points, three different cards give you 9 (3*3) points, etc.

If I'm reading your description accurately, I think you did the other multipliers correctly.

Geeky_Farmer wrote:
Finally, are you supposed to score all buildings as you go? We scored the ? buildings as we did and saved the others for the end.

I believe you are supposed to score them all when purchased. It's one of the few things that actually gets scored during the game.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Heather Walters

Peninsula
Ohio
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks. I see that now with the squaring...

If I have it right the only points that score during the game are buildings and the occasional Civilization card points?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael J
United States
Folsom
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct, huts and occasional VP-giving civ cards are scored during the game. Also, you have the squaring rule for green civ cards correct, but don't forget to add 1 pt for each green card that is a duplicate of an already scored card. So if you had 4 cards with 3 different symbols you get 3 X 3 for the unique symbols plus 1 for the duplicate symbol for a total of 10 points.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
DC
United States
Grand Rapids
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Geeky_Farmer wrote:
Second, I could not figure out the graphic under the civ cards on the player board. We scored 5 points for each Civ card (+1 for extras), and then multiplied total number of specialist people by there thing (tools, building, food track) etc.


This is an aside, but I have seen this exact question (and confusion) quite a few times. I wonder where it comes from. The example in the rules book gives 5 civ cards as an example... are people reading that but not understanding the part (before the example) about squaring the number of cards? It certainly looks like it could be written more clearly.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randall Bart
United States
Winnetka
California
flag msg tools
designer
Baseball been bery bery good to me
badge
This is a picture of a published game designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
People often read the example and not the rule. Many people do that. It's the danger in examples.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
DC
United States
Grand Rapids
Michigan
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
Barticus88 wrote:
People often read the example and not the rule. Many people do that. It's the danger in examples.


True. After looking at the rulebook again (at least the PDF at Rio Grande), the rules for scoring green civ cards are especially bad. In fact, the rules say:

Stone Age Rulebook wrote:
Multiple the different civilization cards with the green backgrounds by themselves.


I don't have the printed rulebook in front of me. Is it actually that bad in print?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Heather Walters

Peninsula
Ohio
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dcclark wrote:
Barticus88 wrote:
People often read the example and not the rule. Many people do that. It's the danger in examples.


True. After looking at the rulebook again (at least the PDF at Rio Grande), the rules for scoring green civ cards are especially bad. In fact, the rules say:

Stone Age Rulebook wrote:
Multiple the different civilization cards with the green backgrounds by themselves.


I don't have the printed rulebook in front of me. Is it actually that bad in print?


That is exactly what it says. It would probably help if they gave a second example. "So if a player has 5 DIFFRENT green backed civilization cards they multiply 5x5 for 25. If they have 3 Diffrent green backed civilization cards they would multiply 3x3 for 9."

That would make more sense to me. But I am a bit dense. When I first started the book says to place your civilization cards face down on the player board. I could not figure out where that was at first. Once I did "DUH!" The graphic confused me more. I looked in the book which said "5 per" or that is how I read it. Classic reading example not words.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Clarke
United Kingdom
Cranleigh
Surrey
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dcclark wrote:
I don't have the printed rulebook in front of me. Is it actually that bad in print?

Yes it is. For some reason there is also a separate sheet describing how the civ cards are scored (and in particular how the upper part of each card works which is not described in the main rulebook), and here the wording is even worse: "During the final scoring, each player multiplies the number of different card by itself and adds extras" - which is not only unclear but ungrammatical. When combined with the wording in the rulebook (which explains how duplicates are scored) and the player boards, though, I think it is reasonably clear what is meant.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.