Recommend
3 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

For the People» Forums » Rules

Subject: Can a cavalry brigade be selected to met the SP loses of an army? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andres Rodriguez
Spain
Córdoba
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
In a battle I lose 1 SP and the question is if I can apply the lose to a cavalry brigade of an army.

And if the answer is yes, I'd like to know if I can reduce from 2 to 1 SPs the Forrest brigade. The rules say that once built to 2 SP strenght it cannot be voluntarily reduced, but I'm not sure if take loses is a voluntary reduction.

Thanks in advance.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can lose the cavalry brigade. In that case the cavalry general will go in the turn track one turn later if USA and three turns later if CSA.

Not sure about Forrest.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Randy C
United States
Chicago
Illinois
flag msg tools
Robert L Howard (Medal of Honor recipient)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can choose to lose 1 from Forrest in combat. Here is the rule, from version 2.6:

The Forrest Cavalry Brigade can be increased to 2 SPs.
Once the Forrest Cavalry Brigade is formed it can
be built to 2 SPs at any time that it occupies a
space with a friendly SP. Once built to 2 SP
strength it cannot be voluntarily reduced. If the
Forrest Cavalry Brigade loses 1 SP in combat, it is not
destroyed but continues to act as a normal 1 SP Cavalry
Brigade. It can be built back to 2 SPs at any time. If the
Forrest Cavalry Brigade is destroyed and returns to play, it
retains this ability to build to a 2 SP size.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matt
United States
Apex
CT
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
BTW, this is a great way for the US player to relocate a cav brigade to another theater without spending an action.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martí Cabré

Terrassa
Catalonia, Spain
msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
madhatter wrote:
BTW, this is a great way for the US player to relocate a cav brigade to another theater without spending an action.


Very risky unless you had 2 cav brigades in the same army. Or unless you are relocating to the DC area. Being not able to intercept near Manassas can lead to disaster.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andres Rodriguez
Spain
Córdoba
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Seems logical that a player can select a cavalry brigade to met the loses of a battle, because there is no rule about cavalry brigades must be the last SP in armies to suffer loses.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.