Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: missile envy and Quagmire rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Nenad Mitrovic
msg tools
mbmbmb
I play game on vassal and i have a question.
US player play Quagmire, then USSR play missile envy. And missile envy say Opponent must use this card for Operations during his next action round.
But Quagmire say On the next action round, US player must discard an Operations card worth 2 or more

So did US in next round

1. Discard missile envy
2. Discard some other card
3. Play missile envy as ops
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Riku Riekkinen
Finland
Jyväskylä
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
US must discard Missile Envy.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren
Australia
Perth
Western Austrailia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The next card discarded must be Missile Envy since it meets the 2 Ops requirement of Quagmire and its own text stipulates that it must be the next card played.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Nenad Mitrovic
msg tools
mbmbmb
Thanks
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
RJJ Zwiers
Netherlands
Enschede
Nederland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
And in the (hypothetical?) case the US was under the constraints of the RedScare/Purge?

Would that mean that the US would only be allowed to play scoring cards for the rest of the turn, since it wasn;t able to meet the conditions noted on the Quagmire? Or should it discard another 3-Ops card?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darren
Australia
Perth
Western Austrailia
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The US would then have to discard another 3 Ops card instead of Missile Envy. At the earliest next opportunity when Missile Envy can be played (either for Ops or to be discarded for whatever purpose, but NOT for its event), the US would have to use it.


From the Collected Rulings:
Quote:
Missile Envy (#49)
After giving your opponent the Missile Envy card (in exchange for one of his cards), if he cannot play the card for Ops (under a Bear Trap or Quagmire, for example), he must discard that card at his earliest opportunity.
CSW 1927 7188
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@7.NAbqbKTsK7e.4@.1dcfda6...
http://talk.consimworld.com/WebX?14@683.Pfgac03qG3J.0@.1dcfd...
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.