Recommend
6 
 Thumb up
 Hide
23 Posts

Robosoccer» Forums » General

Subject: Robosoccer contest. Win GG. rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Néstor Romeral Andrés
Spain
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hi,

This is the second contest of the nestorgames' s soccer games series (Penguin Soccer, Robosoccer and 11).

(Please participate in the first contest here: Penguin Soccer contest)


White wins in 3:



Prize: 30 GG
Deadline: Feb-25
First poster with the right solution wins. Edited posts will not be accepted.

Good luck!

3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Pinter
United States
Liverpool
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
W.1) Medium Robot on 2nd row moves Left
B.1) (doesn't matter what black does)
W.2) Medium Robot on 2nd row trades spots with the ball in 3rd row
B.2) (doesn't matter what black does)
W.3) Large Robot on 1st row trades spots with the ball in the 2nd row

White Wins
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Néstor Romeral Andrés
Spain
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
White scores on the topmost row.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Pinter
United States
Liverpool
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
n_r_a wrote:
White scores on the topmost row.



Oh, Having read the rules white was starting on the top row so I figured they had to go to the bottom. I didn't realize the board was turned around.

EDIT: took me long enough to figure out that solution and it was wrong

This is definitely an interesting game, however, 2-player abstracts don't really fly with my family & friends. I maybe have 1 competitor.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Néstor Romeral Andrés
Spain
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
nordlead wrote:
EDIT: took me long enough to figure out that solution and it was wrong


Try again

And remember that each player has 2 moves per turn!

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Pinter
United States
Liverpool
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
n_r_a wrote:
nordlead wrote:
EDIT: took me long enough to figure out that solution and it was wrong


Try again

And remember that each player has 2 moves per turn!



doh!! I missed that rule. Totally makes my analysis different laugh
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Blizzard
Canada
Salt Spring Island
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Not sure I understand all the rules but will give it a try.
I'll use chess notation for the squares. Lower left is a1, upper right is f6

Wh1: c5 pushes to d5 (black robot goes to e5)
d5 to d6
Bl1: if e5 does NOT push e4 then:

Wh2: Pass ball between d3 and e4 (Ball is now on e4
d6 to c6
Bl2: Any
Wh3: Pass ball between e4 and c6 WIN.

If Bl1 does push e5 to e4. (White robot is now on e3.
then:
Wh2: Pass ball between d3 and e3. Ball is now on e3.
d6 to c6.
Bl2: Any
Wh3: c6 pushes to b6
Pass ball between e3 and b6. WIN

Dave.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Seth Pinter
United States
Liverpool
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ok, I'm under the impression that you can't shove any robot in rows 1 or 6. I'm also under the impression that shoving moves both robots 1 space. If this is correct, I don't understand how this doesn't lead to a black win in 3 with white going first.

If black went first then it would be a win in 2, with a simple ball swap, then move down with the small robot. At that point black can't be stopped therefore White's 1st move is forced so as to force black not to start his win in 2.

W.1.1) Big Robot in 5th row moves Left
W.1.2) Big Robot in 5th row moves Left (Forced, else black wins in 2)
B.1.1) Small Robot in 6th row Down to 5th row (block white win in 1)
B.1.2) Small Robot in 2nd row Swap with ball
W.2.1) Medium Robot in 1st row moves Right (block black win in 1)
W.2.2) Big Robot in 5th row moves Left (to right side of board)
B.2.1) Small Robot in 2nd row Swap with ball
B.2.2) Small Robot in 2nd row moves Down to 1st row
W.3.1) Small Robot in 4th row moves Up to 5th Row
W.3.2) Big Robot in 5th Row Swap with Ball
B 3.1) Small Robot in 1st row Swap with ball

Black Wins!

As you can see, W.2.1 is forced, else black wins on their next turn (move down, swap with ball, black wins). This leaves white with 3 actions. At this point (since all of whites moves have been forced) white has no way to move a robot into a scoring position in 2 moves.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Néstor Romeral Andrés
Spain
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dave,

What if the medium black robot goes back to d5?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Néstor Romeral Andrés
Spain
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I will check the solutions on Feb-25

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Blizzard
Canada
Salt Spring Island
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Ah, I missed that rule that the robot blocks a pass.
I see that I can not edit my previous submission, am I allowed another separate submission or only one per person.
Thanks.
Dave.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Néstor Romeral Andrés
Spain
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
davebliz wrote:
Ah, I missed that rule that the robot blocks a pass.
I see that I can not edit my previous submission, am I allowed another separate submission or only one per person.
Thanks.
Dave.


Same user can submit as many solutions as he wishes.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Blizzard
Canada
Salt Spring Island
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Okey, let's try again. Same notation as earlier.

Wh1: c5 robot pushes to d5. Black robot is now at e5.
e4 robot jumps e5 robot, ending at e6.
Bl1: Robot on e5 must go to f6 or else
Wh2: d5 to e5 to f5.
Bl2: Any.
Wh3: Pass ball from d3 to f5.
Pass ball from f5 to e6. WIN

If Bl1 is Robot e5 to f5 to f6.
Then.
Wh2: Robot e6 jumps f6 robot, ending at a6.
Pass ball from d3 to a6. WIN
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Néstor Romeral Andrés
Spain
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hmm... I've just found out that white cannot prevent a black goal on A1 or B1. What do you think?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Aha! My boyfriend and I spent a day or so going over the possible moves, and eventually decided that either we were understanding the rules wrong or we were missing something incredibly clever and devious.

I'm a little disappointed it's not the latter... I was so excited to see what the answer was!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Néstor Romeral Andrés
Spain
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
worshipsf wrote:
Aha! My boyfriend and I spent a day or so going over the possible moves, and eventually decided that either we were understanding the rules wrong or we were missing something incredibly clever and devious.


May I help you?

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Néstor Romeral Andrés
Spain
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
davebliz wrote:
Okey, let's try again. Same notation as earlier.

Wh1: c5 robot pushes to d5. Black robot is now at e5.
e4 robot jumps e5 robot, ending at e6.
Bl1: Robot on e5 must go to f6 or else
Wh2: d5 to e5 to f5.
Bl2: Any.
Wh3: Pass ball from d3 to f5.
Pass ball from f5 to e6. WIN

If Bl1 is Robot e5 to f5 to f6.
Then.
Wh2: Robot e6 jumps f6 robot, ending at a6.
Pass ball from d3 to a6. WIN


Ok, I think it's correct. Congrats!

Thank you everybody for participating!

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
n_r_a wrote:
davebliz wrote:
Okey, let's try again. Same notation as earlier.

Wh1: c5 robot pushes to d5. Black robot is now at e5.
e4 robot jumps e5 robot, ending at e6.
Bl1: Robot on e5 must go to f6 or else
Wh2: d5 to e5 to f5.
Bl2: Any.
Wh3: Pass ball from d3 to f5.
Pass ball from f5 to e6. WIN

If Bl1 is Robot e5 to f5 to f6.
Then.
Wh2: Robot e6 jumps f6 robot, ending at a6.
Pass ball from d3 to a6. WIN


Ok, I think it's correct. Congrats!

Thank you everybody for participating!



Ok, I am confused about this, because:

1) I don't understand the logic in "Bl1: Robot on e5 must go to f6 or else..." If Wh1 moves this way, then:
Bl1: Small robot A2 switch with ball at B2. Small robot B2 -> B1.
Wh2: Any
Bl2: Small robot B1 switch with ball at A1. WIN

2) The last move "Wh2: Robot e6 jumps f6 robot, ending at a6." seems invalid because you cannot jump a robot on the first and last rows.

So unless I am understanding wrong, this solution is not correct for the puzzle.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Néstor Romeral Andrés
Spain
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
worshipsf wrote:
Ok, I am confused about this, because:

1) I don't understand the logic in "Bl1: Robot on e5 must go to f6 or else..." If Wh1 moves this way, then:
Bl1: Small robot A2 switch with ball at B2. Small robot B2 -> B1.
Wh2: Any
Bl2: Small robot B1 switch with ball at A1. WIN


White can defend easily by pushing the small black robot with the medium one.

Quote:
2) The last move "Wh2: Robot e6 jumps f6 robot, ending at a6." seems invalid because you cannot jump a robot on the first and last rows.


Yes you can. What you cannot do is to cross the red line.

I hope this helps

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
n_r_a wrote:
worshipsf wrote:
Ok, I am confused about this, because:

1) I don't understand the logic in "Bl1: Robot on e5 must go to f6 or else..." If Wh1 moves this way, then:
Bl1: Small robot A2 switch with ball at B2. Small robot B2 -> B1.
Wh2: Any
Bl2: Small robot B1 switch with ball at A1. WIN


White can defend easily by pushing the small black robot with the medium one.

Quote:
2) The last move "Wh2: Robot e6 jumps f6 robot, ending at a6." seems invalid because you cannot jump a robot on the first and last rows.


Yes you can. What you cannot do is to cross the red line.

I hope this helps



I see. The rules state:

"You cannot push a piece that is on the first or last rows."
and
"A piece cannot jump over a robot that is at the first or last row."

which to me clearly means that both of those moves are invalid. If the intent is to prevent any pieces from moving across the line, I would suggest rewording these rules to reflect that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Néstor Romeral Andrés
Spain
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you. I will check this

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Blizzard
Canada
Salt Spring Island
British Columbia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Nestor, thanks for the prize, much appreciated.
And you are correct about Black having a chance to win BUT white can stop him.
So I think it should say White wins in 4.
If Black's first move is to ignore white 1st move and do: a pass between b2 and robot on a3 then his second part of move 1 is Robot b2 to b1.
White must use his 2nd move to move robot d2 to c2 and then b2 to
block the pass that Black could do on his 2nd move with robot b1 to c1 and then pass a3 to c1 for a black win.
Note that if White does block with his robot on b2, Black can not push that white robot so will still lose but in 4 moves, not 3.

I see that you fixed the rule on jumping and pushing by deleting the reference to the 1st and last rows. That's good. I would suggest that you may want to add a note that there is a solid red line at the 1st and last row and this means that robots can not be pushed or jumped over these red lines, similar to the other red lines on the board.

On a side note, I have started to play Penguin Soccer on SDG with the designer.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Néstor Romeral Andrés
Spain
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
davebliz wrote:
I would suggest that you may want to add a note that there is a solid red line at the 1st and last row and this means that robots can not be pushed or jumped over these red lines, similar to the other red lines on the board.

On a side note, I have started to play Penguin Soccer on SDG with the designer.


Yes, that will make things clearer. thx!

And have fun playing with Avri

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.