Popular Tags: [View All]
Rich Charters
United States
Chandler
Arizona
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I'm new to Dominion. I'm looking for a recommended set (from the basic game only) for 4 players....dad, mom, and two teenagers. What 10 cards do you recommend and why?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lars Wagner Hansen
Denmark
Sorø
flag msg tools
designer
Any time, any place!
badge
Fingers off, that's my car!
mbmbmbmbmb
Do the basic suggestion in the rulebook, and then start doing random sets, using the placeholders to draw 10 kingdom cards.

Playing with 10 random cards is really the best way to play.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Woodward
United States
Bowling Green
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
richcharters wrote:
I'm new to Dominion. I'm looking for a recommended set (from the basic game only) for 4 players....dad, mom, and two teenagers. What 10 cards do you recommend and why?

I would recommend the "first game" set until everyone is comfortable with the rules and has developed some strategies. Then you could have all of the players look over the cards and discuss what they would like and dislike. I think that only playtesting with this group will determine the best card set.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Duff
Canada
Ottawa
Ontario
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Yet another vote for the starter set mentioned in the rules.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave G
United States
Illinois
flag msg tools
badge
El Chupacabratwurst
mbmbmbmbmb
I just wish someone would come up with a "best basic set ten" or something like that. That would really be a helpful and useful contribution to the site.

Kidding. I'm kidding. Don't hit me.

(Also, try the "starter" set recommended in the rules for your first game, and then go nuts with the randomization. That's where the game really gets to be fun.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Wolfe
United States
Columbus
Ohio
flag msg tools