Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Paths of Glory» Forums » Rules

Subject: Noob Questions --- Replacements, Forts, Attacks, & Trenches rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
United States
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Hey guys,

Just started playing our first game of PoG and have run into a few issues that we either didn't see clarified in the rules or skipped over for time's sake.

1. If the allied player uses replacement points to reconstruct an RU army, where is that army placed?

2. Can Forts be besieged if there is a defending unit present in them? If so, and if the fort is destroyed, what happens to the defending unit in the space?

3. Can an attacking unit choose to only attack a single corps/army in a space with multiple stacked units or must the attacker attack all units in the defending space?

4. Do trenches apply to all units in a space or only one unit? In addition, do trenches shift fire columns BOTH left & right, or only single direction?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Barratt
United Kingdom
Royal Leamington Spa
Warwickshire
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Allos wrote:
Hey guys,

Just started playing our first game of PoG and have run into a few issues that we either didn't see clarified in the rules or skipped over for time's sake.

1. If the allied player uses replacement points to reconstruct an RU army, where is that army placed?

2. Can Forts be besieged if there is a defending unit present in them? If so, and if the fort is destroyed, what happens to the defending unit in the space?

3. Can an attacking unit choose to only attack a single corps/army in a space with multiple stacked units or must the attacker attack all units in the defending space?

4. Do trenches apply to all units in a space or only one unit? In addition, do trenches shift fire columns BOTH left & right, or only single direction?


1 It is created in any of the Russian supply spaces (To Petrograd, To Moscow, To Kharkov or To Caucasus)

2 No, spaces with enemy units can't be entered and so it can't be beseiged.

3 You must attack all units in the defending space, neither player has the option of excluding defenders.

4 A trench applies to all units in the space. When that space is attacked the enemy will fire at one column worse than normal (two columns for a Trench 2) and the defenders will fire at one column better than normal.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
1. Any supply source in Russia 9.5.3.3

2. No. You have to enter the space to besiege (15.2.1) and 11.1.7 says you cannot enter a space with an enemy unit.

3. Must attack all units. To clarify, you attack spaces not units.

4. All defending units gain benefit of trenches. Offensive fire shifts left (bad) and defensive fire shifts right (good).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.