Dampenon Fabien
France
Paris
flag msg tools
badge
Rookies talk about strategy, Grognards about Logistics
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
14.12 : Must the number of Allied units revealed be equal to the Tactical Rating or may this number be inferior by choice ?

14.12 : If submarine damaged by "combat event", may the player choose to withdraw like damage by "Diligent Escort" ?

14.16B : Submarine's Attack Value = 5 ;
Target's Defense Value = 0;
TDC = -2.
What is the result to be attained for a Hit, 5 or 7 ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brien Miller
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
In the order in which you asked:

1. Equal to: may NOT be reduced by choice.*

2. I need to check with Steve on an issue here in order to answer this- this is one of those cases where I know the design intent, but a nuance with the rules requires investigation prior to answering.

3. 7

* Tactical Rating: The tactical rating is one of the key drivers underlying the simulation. Remember, you are the ASHORE commander. The game models the submarines as if they are independent captains (which they were to an extent). In order to do so, the game makes an assumption about the use of the submarine vis-a-vie the skipper commanding it. The assumption is comparatively simple; more capable vessals under nominally capable commanders will go in harms way more. Think of it this way, if you only have a 6 shot revolver, you are less likely to take risks than someone with body armor and an M16A2 with plenty of magazine reloads would (on average). More capability = the ability to take more risk.

The tactical rating does this in Silent War/Steel Wolves. It places the unit in statistically appropriate risk conditions based on its capability. Therefore, it is a key underlying aspect of the model and requires the player to utilize the submarine in ways that a statistically nominal independent skipper would. This allows the numbers to drive the game and players are given other tools (ace skippers as an example) by which to improve opportunities or, simply hold back deployments from certain zones in the case that loss rates increase for whatever reason. This is the more-or-less realistic (I use the word with reservations) level of control an ashore BdU/COMSUBPAC has over his deployed units.

Brien
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dampenon Fabien
France
Paris
flag msg tools
badge
Rookies talk about strategy, Grognards about Logistics
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thank you very much for your responses, fast and accurate.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brien Miller
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
The answer missing from my first post:

14.12 : If submarine damaged by "combat event", may the player choose to withdraw like damage by "Diligent Escort" ?

No, the combat events are all self resolving in this matter. The "withdraw" on damage is for the Diligent Escort as printed.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.