Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
14 Posts

Dungeons & Dragons: Wrath of Ashardalon Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Move 1 tile to closest hero rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Bubba Lee
msg tools
Here's the scenario that had us scratching our head:

What happens if a monster is placed on a scorch mark in a tile that has a hero but that hero is not adjacent to the scorch mark. Lets say the hero is one square away from the scorch mark.

This particular monster can only attack if it's adjacent to a hero so it defaults to it's move statement which says it moves one tile.

Does the critter really move one tile to the closest hero or does it simply take one step (one square move) to become adjacent to the hero in the tile it spawned in?

Thanks!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John
United States
Kansas
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rules indicate that when monsters move to a tile, they move to the scorch mark if possible (emphasis mine). In the situation you mention, I would say that such a movement is not possible because the monster's tactics supersede the general movement rule; so, if the tactics say to move the monster adjacent to a hero and that hero isn't adjacent to the tile's scorch mark, you get to choose any legal space adjacent to the hero. This is similar to how many people played Castle Ravenloft.

Related question for discussion: A hero is adjacent to both a monster and a scorch mark, but the monster is not on that scorch mark (three separate spaces -- hero, monster, scorch mark). If the monster is instructed to move adjacent to the nearest hero, does the monster stay where it is (given that it is already adjacent to the hero) or move to the also-adjacent-to-the-hero scorch mark (trying to satisfy the scorch-mark-move rule)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D. Trull
msg tools
mb
That is how we are interpreting it, for both the Kobold and Duergar. If not adjacent, and if not on a tile with no heroes or unexplored edges, then it moves one tile toward the closest hero following the scorch mark rules.

If it is only 1 tile away at the point of movement it still moves to the scorch mark. Whether that puts it adjacent or not, it would not attack until activated on another Villain phase.

If it is on a tile with a Hero(s) but not adjacent then it moves adjacent during that activation but still would not attack until another Villain phase.

And we apply the 'heroes advantage' rule if needing to move it into a tile but are unable to place on the scorch mark to place it on the tile as most advantageous to the heroes.

The main purpose of sentries, as both have the "sentry" title, is mainly to follow heroes and cause more monsters and tiles to spawn unless directly confronted.

I am sure once Wizard does officially post a FAQ, the specific actions of sentry figures will have some clarification included.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bubba Lee
msg tools
@jda1974 - Thanks for the reply! Here's my thoughts on your question:

I would say that the monster remains were it is if the move option is farther down the card, that is; if being adjacent to a hero superseeds the move option the critter stays put.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bubba Lee
msg tools
Thanks D.Trull - that's how we have been playing also
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Fisher
United States
Downingtown
PA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dTrull wrote:
That is how we are interpreting it, for both the Kobold and Duergar. If not adjacent, and if not on a tile with no heroes or unexplored edges, then it moves one tile toward the closest hero following the scorch mark rules.

If it is only 1 tile away at the point of movement it still moves to the scorch mark. Whether that puts it adjacent or not, it would not attack until activated on another Villain phase.

If it is on a tile with a Hero(s) but not adjacent then it moves adjacent during that activation but still would not attack until another Villain phase.

And we apply the 'heroes advantage' rule if needing to move it into a tile but are unable to place on the scorch mark to place it on the tile as most advantageous to the heroes.

The main purpose of sentries, as both have the "sentry" title, is mainly to follow heroes and cause more monsters and tiles to spawn unless directly confronted.

I am sure once Wizard does officially post a FAQ, the specific actions of sentry figures will have some clarification included.


The designer commented on it elsewhere, but it is similar to what you said.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Get Funkadelic
United States
West Allis
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
JDA/Bubba It would really be best to see which monsters you are specifically referring to as the tactics do vary enough to throw a wrench or two in the mix.

I'm pleased to see that the tile movement our gaming groups used was the correct one after all. Some groups house ruled it to make it easier for the players and others house ruled to make it brutal for the players, to make victory all the more sweet. We prefered the one that kept the game moving faster.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
D. Trull
msg tools
mb
When moving/placing monsters the scorch mark rules really only applies to moving monsters between tiles for the purpose of getting them closer to the heroes.

The text that a monster 'moves adjacent to the closest hero' supersedes this general "tile movement" ruling by specifying exactly where the monster should be placed.

Same as when certain Encounters specify to place a new monster on a tile near its "unexplored edge."
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lee Fisher
United States
Downingtown
PA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
dTrull wrote:
When moving/placing monsters the scorch mark rules really only applies to moving monsters between tiles for the purpose of getting them closer to the heroes.

The text that a monster 'moves adjacent to the closest hero' supersedes this general "tile movement" ruling by specifying exactly where the monster should be placed.

Same as when certain Encounters specify to place a new monster on a tile near its "unexplored edge."


This one doesn't move adjacent to the hero, but only attacks if adjacent to hero.

Here was the other thread
Re: Tactics of the Duergar Guard and Kobold Dragonshield
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Most tactics say something like, "If within 1 tile, move adjacent to the closest hero". Note that the "closest hero" may be 2 squares away on the same tile. You simply have to ask yourself:

A) Is the hero within one tile? Yes.
B) Is the hero the closest hero? Yes.

Therefore, move the monster next to it.

-shnar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Biggar
United States
Mountain View
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
There is a rules ambiguity here. As monsters move by tiles, how is "closest" defined? It can be argued that all heroes on the same tile are all equally close. Measuring by spaces can lead to weird situations like a hero two tiles away being considered closer than the hero one tile away that triggered the monsters action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I always follow a very simple rule, "When in doubt, the active player decides." It helps clear up a lot of ambiguous areas.

-shnar
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tristan Hall
England
Manchester
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
LIFEFORM - LIVE NOW ON KICKSTARTER!!!
badge
LIFEFORM - LIVE NOW ON KICKSTARTER!!!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
mark_biggar wrote:
There is a rules ambiguity here. As monsters move by tiles, how is "closest" defined? It can be argued that all heroes on the same tile are all equally close. Measuring by spaces can lead to weird situations like a hero two tiles away being considered closer than the hero one tile away that triggered the monsters action.


Tiles first (since that's how they move), squares if there's a dispute. Sound fair?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
ninjadorg wrote:
mark_biggar wrote:
There is a rules ambiguity here. As monsters move by tiles, how is "closest" defined? It can be argued that all heroes on the same tile are all equally close. Measuring by spaces can lead to weird situations like a hero two tiles away being considered closer than the hero one tile away that triggered the monsters action.


Tiles first (since that's how they move), squares if there's a dispute. Sound fair?


Honestly, it's not defined in the rules, so it's up to the players to decide.

-shnar
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.