Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Puzzle Strike» Forums » Rules

Subject: Action and Draw Order rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
V. H.

New Jersey
msg tools
The rules say you must do things in reading order, so does that mean if you get an action and a draw, you have to complete the action before you draw? Like in "One of Each" do you complete an action, bank a chip, gain $1 then draw a chip? Or, can you draw then play an action?

I read else where on this forum that you gain an option to take another action, so you don't have to do it right away, but if that's the case then why is it written like this in the instructions?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Denis
Germany
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The order is actually

1. Gain an action. You can use it after this chip has resolved.
2. Gain the right to bank a chip during the cleanup phase.
3. Gain $1.
4. Draw a chip.

The important thing is that arrows and piggy banks do not have an imediate effect but grant you the power to do something later in your turn.

Hope that helps.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fede Miguez
Argentina
Capital Federal
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
The rule is there to clarify some weird cases, like Chromatic Orb: you get to draw a card even if there is no 1 in your pile to crash. You also gain the piggy bank with Training Day even if you don't have any chips in hand (although it doesn't make much sense). Also it clarifies you don't get to draw with Combo Time if you don't have a 1 to put in your pile nor you gain an extra action.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Alan Kwan
Hong Kong
Hong Kong
Unspecified
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
PePe QuiCoSE wrote:
The rule is there to clarify some weird cases, like Chromatic Orb: you get to draw a card even if there is no 1 in your pile to crash.

And if you do have a 1 to crash, you still draw first before you crash, and can use the newly drawn chip (if it's a crash gem) to counter-counter-crash if your opponent counter-crashes a 2 or 3 gem and drops something on you.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.