Popular Tags: [View All]
Camelorn
Germany
Koblenz
Rheinland-Pfalz
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
Take a look at Vassal, all the modules there are eather playable online or via mail: http://www.vassalengine.org/

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Lynette
United States
Richland
Washington
flag msg tools
Yep, I am a girl Scientist. Come for the breasts; Stay for the brains!
badge
For as long as I shall live I will testify to love; I'll be a witness in the silences when words are not enough.
mbmbmbmbmb
gte910h wrote:
The other player will at most be able to have the manual, possibly not even that. Will not be able to send or receive pictures of the game nor have a copy of it.

Any suggestions? (Not chess, I hate chess).

Have you considered Mabiweb, Yucata or other sites like these?

They are play by turn so you don't have to be on line at the same time and have dozens of good games set up with all the graphics and rules available along with chat windows to enable banter if desired.

I keep in touch with several long distance gaming friends and family this way. We game and chat almost like we could be together in person.

So if your friend has internet access at all this could be the answer.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Daniel Eig
United States
Huntington
New York
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Would love to see some non-wargame recommendations as well. While I play a lot of boardgames, I've never really sat down and figured out how many turns a given game would be if I did it PBEM.

Is there a list out there somewhere on what modern games work best PBEM - aka the most gameplay for the least amount of discrete turns - particularly if there are 4+ players?

Obviously Diplomacy, as a simul-turn game... but what else? Wallenstein/Shogun?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Todd Woodward
United States
Bowling Green
Ohio
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb