Recommend
6 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

High Frontier» Forums » Rules

Subject: Multiple thrusters rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adhika Widyaparaga
Indonesia
Yogyakarta
- None -
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rule 6.2A states that we choose one card with a triangle to be the rocket's thruster for its move.

So since can "choose" and that there are no rules limiting the number of thrusters, i gather we can equip a rocket with several thruster types.

Correct?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bob Slaughter
United States
Alpharetta
Georgia
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, multiple thrusters are allowed and encouraged -- especially because 'cruise' thrusters and 'landing' thrusters are often mutually inefficient. The only 'restriction' is you can only use one thruster per turn.
6 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christopher O
Canada
Toronto
Ontario
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Summer grasses / All that remains / Of soldiers' dreams. - Basho.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Correct, so long as you select and use only one thruster per turn (with all the thrust limits and fuel requirements thereof) AND you can provide the necessary supports (if you are playing the expanded game) during the turn that the particular thruster is being used.

In fact, using more than one thruster (usually a crew thruster) is almost required for some larger-sized sites, until you can get a more efficient one.

[whoops - sorry for the repeat answer - I forgot to hit submit]
4 
 Thumb up
0.05
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adhika Widyaparaga
Indonesia
Yogyakarta
- None -
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the quick replies!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Milwaukee
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mb
Kozure wrote:
Correct, so long as you select and use only one thruster per turn (with all the thrust limits and fuel requirements thereof) AND you can provide the necessary supports (if you are playing the expanded game) during the turn that the particular thruster is being used.

In fact, using more than one thruster (usually a crew thruster) is almost required for some larger-sized sites, until you can get a more efficient one.



Would you then add the non-used thruster mass to your total mass?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Darrell Pavitt
United Kingdom
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Milwaukee
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
mb
Thank you for the response.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John August
Australia
flag msg tools
6.1 for solar power notes you can only use the solar power modifier once, regardless of how many solar components you have. This suggests you can use multiple solar cards, as otherwise the fact that you can use only one card would be the only rule which would stop you from applying the solar modifier multiple times.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Chamberlain
United States
Tracy
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the advanced game, a thruster often has a generator and/or a reactor as support. So there could be as many as 3 cards (the thruster and the up to two supports) making up a single working thruster.

6.1 is referring to the possibility that multiple cards in that thruster+generator+reactor combo might have the solar icon on them. In that case, the benefit of the icon only applies once.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.