John Lardinois

Dayton
Ohio
msg tools
mbmb
I'm pretty new to board gaming and in just a short while I've found that I'm somewhat particular to games with miniatures. Although I enjoy euros and abstracts there is something about moving detailed thematic figures around a board or map that's especially enjoyable.

Since there seem to be fewer miniature games out there that have good prepainted minis than those that do not I've decided to try my hand at painting hobby. I realize that its a time commitment and a learning experience but I believe it would be something I'd like doing since I already enjoy other artistic endeavors.

1) Is it possible to only spend $50-60 at first on painting supplies and have enough tools and supplies to match or beat the looks of pre-painted minis? Recommendations for paints, colors, and brushes or anything else I'd need? Hints and tips you've gained on painting the typical plastic board game mini?

2) Are there any miniature/figure based board games that you would recommend picking up that have great game play and nice figures to paint? I already have LNOE w/ expansions and cyclades, which I love playing, ready to paint (mansions of madness is the way). Even if you don't paint your miniatures feel free to chime in with your own fav figure based games.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Bezio
United States
Lyndon Station
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
Yes, it's possible to start painting minis without spending an arm and a leg. Go to a craft store and check out the acrylic craft paints. The cheapest brands are about $1 each (and they go a long way). You can get a pack of various brushes for $5-$10 (the biggest expense), and spray primer or sealer for a couple bucks eash (although when painting soft plastic minis you need to choose carefully or your figures will end up "sticky").

That's about all you need to get started.