The statement below is false.
The statement above is correct.
A phase refers to the initiation phase of the current battle round so if in initiation phase 3 a net fighter is attacked and killed then any units that were netted are free to use any attacks they have in initiation phases 2, 1 and 0.
Huh? You're saying that if a netting fighter is killed, all the netted fighters retroactively get to use all the attacks that were skipped due to the net? Where do the rules say that? Did I play the game that wrong all this time?
Edit: Doh, ignore this. Nope, you're not saying that, you're merely saying that in initiation phases after the net fighter is killed, its net isn't effective any more. With which I agree wholeheartedly.