Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Adam Thompson
United States
Peru
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Anyone else notice an unusual interest in UNO from a set of "New Users" from China?

Like here:
http://boardgamegeek.com/thread/626201/who-can-tell-me-the-m...

There are others.

Kind of funny, I laughed at first, but then I realized it is kind of annoying because we come here for information and that stuff is just spam for the purpose of humor.

Anyways, just wondering if I'm the only one who came across these.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chad
United States
San Antonio
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
I drink your milkshake!
mbmbmbmbmb
English as a Second Language Guild
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Adam Thompson
United States
Peru
Indiana
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Cool! I'm an ESL teacher 4 nights a week.

Color me a little embarassed blush

It just seemed very weird to me that there were all these Chinese new users suddenly posting things about UNO.

No intention of being disrespectful for sure (like i said, I teach ESL)...it just seemed very suspicious.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
New Jersey
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I went to check out those threads after seeing this one, and I must say that reading them left a bad taste in my mouth. A string of threads with strange and uninteresting questions may be annoying, but I was mostly disappointing by some of the comments from BGGers, including outright vitriol and negative implications about the posters' intelligence/nationality. Learning later that it was a group of students on an assignment to practice their English by talking about the games they'd learned in class, I felt a bit sick to my stomach.

I'm still relatively new here, but until now I've only been amazed by the kindness, supportiveness, and generosity of the community here (so unlike most online communities!) so it was a small shock to my system.