Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Combat Commander: Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: LOS Questions rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
David Levy
United States
Houston
Texas
flag msg tools
Two questions about this excellent game:

Rule 10.1--Obstalces or hindrances are defined to be those that are in intervening hexes. I am not clear about what happens with intervening hexSIDES. Do obstacles or hindrances (e.g. fields, etc.) that are on intervening hexsides obstruct the same as if they are in intervening hexes? Some LOS' go straight down hexsides as opposed to through hexes.

Scenario 22--A Veritable Bloodbath--Does the dusk hindrance have the same effect as smoke in that it provides a hindrance when traced into or our of any hex, rather than just through it like a typical hindrance? For example, if a unit fires at an enemy unit in an adjacent hex, does the dusk modifier apply?


1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
coalie wrote:
Two questions about this excellent game:

Rule 10.1--Obstalces or hindrances are defined to be those that are in intervening hexes. I am not clear about what happens with intervening hexSIDES. Do obstacles or hindrances (e.g. fields, etc.) that are on intervening hexsides obstruct the same as if they are in intervening hexes? Some LOS' go straight down hexsides as opposed to through hexes.


This includes hexsides. If the LOS crosse the depiction of the hindering feature, the LOS is hindered. Thust a fence or hedgerow along a hexside will be a hindrance.

However, NOTE that walls, fences and hedges that are on the hexside of the shooting hex or target hex are NOT considered hindering.

Quote:

Scenario 22--A Veritable Bloodbath--Does the dusk hindrance have the same effect as smoke in that it provides a hindrance when traced into or our of any hex, rather than just through it like a typical hindrance? For example, if a unit fires at an enemy unit in an adjacent hex, does the dusk modifier apply?


No. It just means that it will always be present in any intervening hex (as opposed to say, a field which may not cover a whole hex).


4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Pardoe
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
The second paragraph 10.1 specifically answers your question: Any Obstacle or Hindrance that is in – or part of, such as a Fence or Wall [T84, T97] – the sighting or target hex will not affect LOS. which answers your question.

Scenario 22 - interpret the rule literally. Nothing says it applies like smoke, so treat it like normal hindrance. Adjacent hexes will have no hindrance.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Lanphear
United States
Stockton
California
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
A hedge does not cause hindrance (ie modification to FP). It will provide cover (+1 to defense roll) if the attack crosses a hexside of the target hex that has a hedge on it. LOS is blocked by a hedge if the hedge crossed is NOT on a hexside of the target hex or sighting hex.

1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
StocktonDave wrote:
A hedge does not cause hindrance (ie modification to FP). It will provide cover (+1 to defense roll) if the attack crosses a hexside of the target hex that has a hedge on it. LOS is blocked by a hedge if the hedge crossed is NOT on a hexside of the target hex or sighting hex.



Yes! Duh. Right. blush

I guess I threw that in because of it NOT blocking LOS on a hexside of the shooter or target. But how did RICHARD miss my mistake?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Russ Williams
Poland
Wrocław
Dolny Śląsk
flag msg tools
designer
badge
Avatar
mbmbmb
StocktonDave wrote:
A hedge does not cause hindrance (ie modification to FP). It will provide cover (+1 to defense roll) if the attack crosses a hexside of the target hex that has a hedge on it. LOS is blocked by a hedge if the hedge crossed is NOT on a hexside of the target hex or sighting hex.

And note that this +1 would NOT be cumulative with any other cover that's in the hex (e.g. if it was a building hex) - the owner of the unit decides which cover to apply if there is more than one choice (and normally would choose the best cover). (Right?)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Shockley
United States
Seffner
Florida
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
russ wrote:
StocktonDave wrote:
A hedge does not cause hindrance (ie modification to FP). It will provide cover (+1 to defense roll) if the attack crosses a hexside of the target hex that has a hedge on it. LOS is blocked by a hedge if the hedge crossed is NOT on a hexside of the target hex or sighting hex.

And note that this +1 would NOT be cumulative with any other cover that's in the hex (e.g. if it was a building hex) - the owner of the unit decides which cover to apply if there is more than one choice (and normally would choose the best cover). (Right?)


Sounds right to me. Also, cover provided by walls/hedges does not work against mortars and artillery.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.