Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Grand National» Forums » Rules

Subject: Movement? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
René Christensen
Denmark
Solroed Strand
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rules say " Each move sideways counts as one length so don't change lanes too often..."

Move sideways?
Like this: A or B

__--->____________
Lane 1|___|_A_|___|
Lane 2|___|_A_|___|
Lane 3|___|___|___|
Lane 4|___|_B_|___|
Lane 5|___|___|_B_|
Lane 6|___|___|___|

IMO A is not allowed.
But does B's movement cost 2 points - 1 for changing lane and 1 for moving forward?
If yes, then A's movement might as well be legal.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Croucher
England
Brighton
East Sussex
flag msg tools
I interpret the rule to be that movement can only be made forward or sideways ( NOT DIAGONALLY ).
Your diagram shows example A to be correct.
Dave.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
René Christensen
Denmark
Solroed Strand
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
__--->____________
Lane 1|___|_A_|_C_|
Lane 2|___|_A_|_A_|
Lane 3|___|___|___|
Lane 4|___|_B_|_E_|
Lane 5|___|_D_|_B_|
Lane 6|___|___|___|

So As movement is correct and Bs movemnet is not legal?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Croucher
England
Brighton
East Sussex
flag msg tools
Correct as per my reading of the rules.
Dave.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
René Christensen
Denmark
Solroed Strand
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks, luckily that was also how we played it tuesday evening.
We raced three races and had a lot of fun!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
René Christensen
Denmark
Solroed Strand
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Is As movement legal?

__--->____________
Lane 1|___|_A_|_B_|
Lane 2|___|_A_|_C_|
Lane 3|___|_A_|_A_|
Lane 4|___|___|___|
Lane 5|___|___|___|
Lane 6|___|___|___|
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Croucher
England
Brighton
East Sussex
flag msg tools
I have just started playing this game again and looking through the posts concerning the movement of horses can anyone confirm whether there is a limit to the number of sideways moves a horse can make during one turn.
IE. Moving 8 squares can I move from lane 1 to 6 = 5 moves. Then 1 square forward staying in lane 6 then another 2 squares to the side back to lane 4.
It seems you need to be able to do this to prevent your horse from Running to Free and and having 2 Handicap Marks deducted each time it ends its move 10 lengths ahead.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fausto Barbarito
Italy
Roma
(RM)
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
I read that the real track is 4.5 miles long. This equals 7,242 metres, and with 116-122 squares total in the gameboard it means that each square is about 60 metres long.

Now, there is no rule limiting the number of sideways, and I think it is legit to move sideways repeatedly.
It is true that one cannot move diagonally, but we are playing a representation of something real, and in my opinion even if it "looks funny" to move 3 or 5 squares sideways it is possible for a horse running to change many lanes in 60 metres (going diagonally).

This would also prevent some bad tactics from backmarkers who could form a group of 3 horses and would block 3 lanes: if moving twice sideways would not be possible, nobody could pass them.
Ok, it's a silly example because the horses approaching could start moving sideways way before reaching that group, but it's just an abstract idea.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.