Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Neal Rosen
United States
Wimauma
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
I am a 18XX newbie and I am having a hard time understanding the rules for revenue production, especially the difference between the countries gettings revenue and the kings getting revenue. I find the examples given in the rules to be particularly confusing - how are the revenues of 40 and 14 drachmas calculated? Can someone attempt to make revenue production more understandable?
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
stefan f.
Germany
Nordrhein-Westfalen
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Hello Neal,

40 Drachma is not calculated, it is printed on the board. It is a a fee the nations can pay if you want that the fleet visits the temple. After having paid the 40 Drachma and depending on the phase you can add to your shiprun 8/10/12/0.

The main point that you have to keep in mind is the strict distinction of "Athenai-money" and your money. Practically you let the Athenai spend 40 Drachma so that you get more money in your personal pocket.

At the end of the game the money of the Athenai is worth nothing for you. The only money that will count is your personal money (+Shares merchants).

Let's say you have 7 merchants and after this turn the game is over.

Athnai have 100 Drachma

Scenario A
You do as in the rules the result will be:

Athenai have 60 Drachma
You have 7 times 14 Drachma = 98 Drachma

Scenario B
You do not let the Athenai spend the money, the result will be:

Athenai have 100 Drachma
You have 7 times 6 Drachma = 42 Drachma

For the winning purposes the Athenai money is worthless.
So the player in A beats the player in B by 56 Drachma.

ciao
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Blorb Plorbst
United States
Bloomington
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
I think we're all bozos on this bus.
mbmbmb
You're probably making it more complicated than you need to.