Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
4 Posts

Europe Engulfed» Forums » Rules

Subject: WAllies attacking Vichy French Levant? [Answered] rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Jan Ozimek
Denmark
Aalborg
flag msg tools
badge
Must resist M:tG. Boardgames are my methadone :)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
In the play book it says that it is stronlgy adviseable for the Allies (the UK) to attack the Vichy French unit in Levant ASAP to close the hole that the Germans can otherwise use to land there.

Play book p. 3, 2nd column wrote:
Malta and Gibraltar must be garrisoned. The Home islands should
be well protected from invasion and/or airborne assault. As Germany
shifts forces to the east, you can move enough strength into
Egypt to assume the offensive there. But before attacking the Italians,
you must secure your rear area by taking French Levant (at
least Lebanon) by the end of 1941, if Vichy controlled. Not doing
this can lose Egypt for you (see 9.524).

However this seems to conflict with this rule:

2nd ed. rules wrote:
9.3 Great Britain and the U.S.A.
9.31 Other than the declaration against Germany (see 17.8(1) on the
1939 Campaign Game Card), Great Britain and the U.S.A. may only
declare war on Norway, Denmark, Vichy France, and Portugal. Assuming
the Germans have not already done so, Great Britain may declare
war on Norway and/or Denmark at anytime. War may be declared
against Vichy France beginning with the Jul/Aug 1942 turn.
War may be declared against Portugal on any turn, but only if the Axis
have declared war against Spain.

What am I missing? Can they be attacked without a DoW againts Vichy France? Thanks.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jon M
United Kingdom
Hitchin
Herts
flag msg tools
Avatar
Re: WAllies attacking Vichy French Levant?
Did you look up 9.524? There is certainly a rule somewhere that lets you take out French Levant without a DoW.
2 
 Thumb up
0.01
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jan Ozimek
Denmark
Aalborg
flag msg tools
badge
Must resist M:tG. Boardgames are my methadone :)
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re: WAllies attacking Vichy French Levant?
Thanks Jon,

I just found it and was about to post it to answer my own question:

Quote:
9.524 FRENCH LEVANT OCCUPATION: If Vichy France controls
French Levant, it may be invaded by Britain (at any time) and/or occupied
by the Germans (in 1942 or later) without it being considered a
violation of Vichy France’s neutrality. The Vichy unit in French Levant
will defend normally against a British invasion. If the Lebanon
area inside French Levant is still Vichy-controlled in 1942, one or
more German units (not Italian) may Strat-move or Operationally move
into Lebanon (only) if that area is uncontested, or use Operational
Movement (only) if Lebanon is contested, thus occupying it and allowing
Axis supply to be traced from that port. The Vichy unit is removed
from the map without resisting if the Germans perform this
occupation, and as of that moment, the Axis Player controls Lebanon
(and Syria, if it too was Vichy-controlled). As of the next Game turn,
Italian units may also move into/through the port of Lebanon, if still
Axis-controlled.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Poul Soegaard
Denmark
Hobro
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Aha so that is what you are up to on our next session!
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.