Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
8 Posts

Merchants & Marauders» Forums » Rules

Subject: Shoot vs board tie rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
John Burton
United States
Boca Raton
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
My bro and I are in a game, 2 Frigates, both captains have 2 seamanship. My bro declares board, and I declare shoot. We both rolled 2 skulls. He doesnt believe me that the outcome is he doesnt board and I get to shoot 2 of my three cannons. Will someone confirm either I am right or wrong?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Liz Burton
United States
Bethesda
Maryland
flag msg tools
badge
Be kind, for everyone you meet is fighting a hard battle.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Johnny9690 wrote:
My bro and I are in a game, 2 Frigates, both captains have 2 seamanship. My bro declares board, and I declare shoot. We both rolled 2 skulls. He doesnt believe me that the outcome is he doesnt board and I get to shoot 2 of my three cannons. Will someone confirm either I am right or wrong?


To board, you have to win the Seamanship roll. He didn't win, so he doesn't board. You also hit with 2 of your cannons, since you tied.

In other words, you are exactly right.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mike Forrey
United States
Dallastown
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Yup, he didn't win and you chose SHOOT so you hit with up to two cannons.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Anthony
United States
Lawton
Oklahoma
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Heres the quote from Page 14 of the rules which shows you did it right:

Quote:
Resolve ties by adding up the numbers on the dice that
did not come up as successes. If still tied, then proceed to
the next round (after inflicting cannon hits, if any).
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Burton
United States
Boca Raton
Florida
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Thanks for clearing that up.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Flawed Hero
United States
Rochester
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Johnny9690 wrote:
My bro and I are in a game, 2 Frigates, both captains have 2 seamanship. My bro declares board, and I declare shoot. We both rolled 2 skulls. He doesnt believe me that the outcome is he doesnt board and I get to shoot 2 of my three cannons. Will someone confirm either I am right or wrong?


wait, what am i missing here...you didn't mention what the numbers were on the remainder of your dice that were not skulls, or how many cannons you had. Well, you said you have 3 cannons but didn't say if any had damage or not. You both tied your seasmanship roll at two skulls each, so you'd both add up the rest of the dice. if you win that, then you would get to shoot with ALL your cannons, which is three (I'm assuming it's three and you haven't taken any damage).
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Evan Stegman
United States
Minneapolis
MN
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Jim K wrote:


wait, what am i missing here...you didn't mention what the numbers were on the remainder of your dice that were not skulls, ...


"both captains have 2 seamanship. My bro declares board, and I declare shoot. We both rolled 2 skulls."

2 seamanship = 2 dice

2 skulls on those dice = no numbers rolled, only skulls
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Flawed Hero
United States
Rochester
New York
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
EvanMinn wrote:
Jim K wrote:


wait, what am i missing here...you didn't mention what the numbers were on the remainder of your dice that were not skulls, ...


"both captains have 2 seamanship. My bro declares board, and I declare shoot. We both rolled 2 skulls."

2 seamanship = 2 dice

2 skulls on those dice = no numbers rolled, only skulls


blush umm...yeah. I knew that. really, I did.. arrrh


3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.