Andrew Brown
United States
Reading
MA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OK played my first game solo last night, and had a couple of small questions.

1. When I pulled the tile, I placed it down, and then I pull the monster. My assumption was that I pulled the monster and it performed it actions according to its tactices. However maybe I read this wrong, is that my character is still on the "old" tile which means that it's not "within" 1 tile. So my character never got attacked initially... Was that really wrong?

2. And also when it says within 1 tile - I felt like my Rogue could simply move and the monster would never catch up cause I was never within 1 tile..

Sounds dumb I know but...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
1. Within 1 tiles does not count the tile the monster is on. So you would have been within 1 tile of the newly spawned monster.

2. Same as above

-shnar
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dave Garcia
Canada
St. Catharines
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I do believe that "within 1 tile" includes the 1 tile away. So, if you are 1 tile away from the enemy, you are considered to be within one tile.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Marco Arnaudo
United States
Bloomington
Indiana
flag msg tools
designer
badge
"My spoon is too big!"
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
OED: "within", preposition
meaning #4: not further off than (used with distances):Bob lives within a few miles of Honesdale

so the adjacent tile is totally within 1 tile
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
T France
United States
Oakland
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
shnar wrote:
1. Within 1 tiles does not count the tile the monster is on. So you would have been within 1 tile of the newly spawned monster.

2. Same as above

-shnar


Wouldn't within 1 tile count the monster's tile as well as the hero's (if he is, indeed, 1 tile away?)...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Bryce K. Nielsen
United States
Elk Ridge
Utah
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Rereading what I wrote, that looks very confusing. I meant "does not just mean the tile the monster is on". Yes, "within 1 tile" is the tile the monster is on and all adjacent tiles.

-shnar
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Swan
Australia
Randwick
NSW
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb

I was not within one tile of that woman...
11 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
One Armed Bandit
Canada
Surrey
British Columbia
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
"Within 1 tile" = 1 or less tiles away.

Zero is "Within 1".

Think about it this way.
Say my gun has a range of 50 yards.

Something 25 yards away is "within range".
Something right next to me is also "within range"
I myself, at zero distance, am also "within range"
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kris Van Beurden
Belgium
Leuven
Vlaams-Brabant
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
palmerkun wrote:

I myself, at zero distance, am also "within range"


No ! No! Don't shoot yourself. You have so much to live for!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
JEREMY PAQUETTE
United States
ATTLEBORO
MA
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Damn,Bill Clinton is a handsome guy.

I read "within 1 tile" as "up to and including 1 tile away".
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.