Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

Twilight Struggle» Forums » Rules

Subject: Shuttle Diplomacy and scoring rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Savino Palumbo
United States
Baltimore
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
This came up in a game the other day. I was US and had Shuttle Diplomacy out. I played Asia scoring, and USSR only had North Korea. I had almost everything else. We played such that I dominated and he still had presence, but USSR didn't get the one bonus point for having a battleground (because SD specifically reads "subtract one battleground from USSR total" but doesn't say anything about not having presence). However, I was thinking we could have also played it such that not only did USA dominate but USSR doesn't even have presence, because if you subtracted North Korea USSR would have had no countries at all.

We searched high and low in the rulebook but couldn't find a ruling on this matter. Any TS vets care to chime in?
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chris Linneman
Canada
Vancouver
BC
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I could be wrong--but I'm pretty sure you subtract the country and everything it gives you, so it can remove Presence if it's the only country USSR controls. It could also remove Control (I think) or prevent your/grant opponent Domination.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew Totonchy
United States
Portland
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/filepage/35268/twilight-struggl...

Your exact example is used in the FAQ. N.Kor is removed for all purposes, even presence.
7 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Железный комиссар
United States
Madison
Wisconsin
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
As per the Collected Rulings, it definitely breaks Control. Consistency would indicate it also removes Presence.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Savino Palumbo
United States
Baltimore
Maryland
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmb
Gazpar wrote:
http://www.boardgamegeek.com/filepage/35268/twilight-struggl...

Your exact example is used in the FAQ. N.Kor is removed for all purposes, even presence.


Holy crap, how coincidental is that? Thanks!! I ended up winning that game anyway, but I would have won it right then and there had we followed this rule!
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.