Recommend
2 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Dungeons & Dragons: Wrath of Ashardalon Board Game» Forums » Rules

Subject: Kobold and Duergar Sentry Tactics ? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Dave M
Canada
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Both monsters basically have the same tactics so ill summarize,

1. If the sentry is adjacent to a hero, attack with weapon.

2. The whole bit about placing a new tile and spawning a new monster if the sentry is on a tile with an unexplored edge and no heroes.

3. Otherwise, move 1 tile towards closest hero.

What i don't understand is, if the sentry is not adjacent to a hero (1.=false),but is on a tile with a hero (2.=false, 3.=satisfied), what exactly does he do? just sit there and stare at the hero standing 1 square away from him?

Seems like 2. should have been the first tactic, and 1. should have been written such that he moves adjacent to a hero if the sentry is on the same tile. Unless its intentional that he just doesn't do anything when no one is adjacent to him but on the same tile as him.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
First Name Last Name
msg tools
Yes, he sits there waiting for the hero to attack. Think of him as stalling you while all the monsters he summoned arrive.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gabriel Kitterman
United States
Silverton
Oregon
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
We play that in this situation the sentry moves adjacent to the hero but does not attack. It is still a pretty useless move on the part of the sentry but at least it then poses a threat next turn.

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kyle
United States
Lincoln
Rhode Island
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmb
Bobagabe wrote:
We play that in this situation the sentry moves adjacent to the hero but does not attack. It is still a pretty useless move on the part of the sentry but at least it then poses a threat next turn.



To my knowledge a Sentry would never move and attack. They only attack when they're already adjacent to a Hero.

Moving the Sentry adjacent to the Hero is often beneficial for the Hero. Many Heroes and items have bonuses that only apply to an adjacent Monster.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jeff Cosby
United States
Sturgis
Michigan
flag msg tools
He can move up to 1 tile, max. So if the hero is on the same tile he would move adjacent to the hero. the sentry will not move & attack, he either moves or attacks. other monsters can move & attack (orc smasher) or attack without moving (orc archer).

My question for the Sentry would be if a tile is laid down because of his second ability & the new tile has a black triangle, does another encounter card get drawn? I've been playing without drawing a card because the game's hard enough already.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian
France
Lyon
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You do not draw again because encounters happen before monsters acting.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.