Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
11 Posts

Merchants & Marauders» Forums » Rules

Subject: Player plunder : rumor cards rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
offthetrailsonacrazytank
Canada
Quebec
flag msg tools
87654321cba
badge
what's an overtext ?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
When you plunder a player's ship and he previously succeeded in doing rumors that are now face up, giving advantages, like : Marooned, Forged documents, Witches galore, False colors, Spanish nobles, Visit the Marques, and especially Coastal caves, do you get these face up cards for yourself ? Or are they discarded ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Was George Orwell an Optimist?
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
Randy Weston - The Spirits of Our Ancestors
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Discarded. Those belong to the captain, not to the ship.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
offthetrailsonacrazytank
Canada
Quebec
flag msg tools
87654321cba
badge
what's an overtext ?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I know it perfectly makes sense to discard Marooned, Visit the Marques and Coastal caves : you can't steal a favor some infuential person owes to the enemy captain, or the location of his secret stash. But all the other rumors are hostages and items like papers and flags : that you can steal and put in your holds. So can you keep these ones ?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ian Kelly
United States
Longmont
Colorado
flag msg tools
Allow me to introduce myself. I am Hexachlorophene J. Goodfortune, Kidnapper-At-Large, and Devourer of Tortoises par Excellence, at your service.
badge
If you can read this, then this sentence is false.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
No. All rumors are discarded, probably for simplicity.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
offthetrailsonacrazytank
Canada
Quebec
flag msg tools
87654321cba
badge
what's an overtext ?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the answers, but can you tell me where in the rules or forums did you seen that you discard all rumors, when under plundering player captains, it says to keep his rumors, along with glory cards, gold on board, etc... You both seem convinced like it's obvious...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Was George Orwell an Optimist?
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
Randy Weston - The Spirits of Our Ancestors
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
metalguisolid wrote:
Thanks for the answers, but can you tell me where in the rules or forums did you seen that you discard all rumors, when under plundering player captains, it says to keep his rumors, along with glory cards, gold on board, etc... You both seem convinced like it's obvious...

What it actually says is you may keep his Rumor Card (singular). Note that the rules under Acquire a Rumor on page 8 specify that you can only have one Rumor Card at a time (that's the one you have a place for on your player board). Once a Rumor is completed, the card is no longer considered your "Rumor Card" for rules purposes.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George
United States
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
badge
You can take my game… when you pry my cold, dead fingers off the board!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sphere wrote:
metalguisolid wrote:
Thanks for the answers, but can you tell me where in the rules or forums did you seen that you discard all rumors, when under plundering player captains, it says to keep his rumors, along with glory cards, gold on board, etc... You both seem convinced like it's obvious...

What it actually says is you may keep his Rumor Card (singular). Note that the rules under Acquire a Rumor on page 8 specify that you can only have one Rumor Card at a time (that's the one you have a place for on your player board). Once a Rumor is completed, the card is no longer considered your "Rumor Card" for rules purposes.


I agree... though I would make an exception for the two rumors that you keep as Specialists (Donaldo "Twelve Pockets", Alan "Gunsmith" MacCall).

Actually I see now they haven't been mentioned in this thread, so maybe they were never being questioned. So anyway for clarity, I think they can be taken since they become Specialists.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
offthetrailsonacrazytank
Canada
Quebec
flag msg tools
87654321cba
badge
what's an overtext ?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Sorry Sphere, but on page 15 of the rulebook, under plundering player captains, it says keep his rumor cards, with an "s". Christian Marquis, if you could clarify, i would be happy.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Christian Marcussen
Denmark
Odense C
flag msg tools
designer
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
metalguisolid wrote:
Sorry Sphere, but on page 15 of the rulebook, under plundering player captains, it says keep his rumor cards, with an "s". Christian Marquis, if you could clarify, i would be happy.


Sphere is right, and it is actually "rumor card" singular on page 15.

You may take the Rumor card which has not been resolved (or several Rumor cards in special cases such as plundering Frederico who may have two). Resolved rumors are no longer considered a rumors and are not taken except for the two specialist rumors that have become specialists - specialist rules apply to them.

Cheers
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
offthetrailsonacrazytank
Canada
Quebec
flag msg tools
87654321cba
badge
what's an overtext ?
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
blush Sorry again, sphere, i double checked the rules and i don't see that "s". I probably mistaken Glory with rumors. It seems everyone on this thread is right except me. Thanks to all and especially to that pirate from Tortuga for his quick answers.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Was George Orwell an Optimist?
United States
Corvallis
Oregon
flag msg tools
Randy Weston - The Spirits of Our Ancestors
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
marqzen wrote:
You may take the Rumor card which has not been resolved (or several Rumor cards in special cases such as plundering Frederico who may have two).

Hmmm. If Frederico plunders somebody else, they'll only have one. And if somebody else plunders Frederico, they may take two, but I'd think they could only keep one. Or is that wrong? If not, it seems that the only case where this would matter is if Frederico plunders Frederico!

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.