Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
21 Posts

Cyclades» Forums » Rules

Subject: Monster card deck rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
T W

Albuquerque
New Mexico
msg tools
What do you do if you run out of cards?
Do you reshuffle or do you play without monsters?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Once the Chimera card ends up in the discard pile, the entire deck gets reshuffled again.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Lutz
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
willythesnitch wrote:
Once the Chimera card ends up in the discard pile, the entire deck gets reshuffled again.


Minus any cards that are out of course.

BOb
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Canada
Montreal
Quebec
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
pilotbob wrote:
willythesnitch wrote:
Once the Chimera card ends up in the discard pile, the entire deck gets reshuffled again.


Minus any cards that are out of course.

BOb


True, true. Forgot about that.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
T W

Albuquerque
New Mexico
msg tools
So you can go a few rounds/cycles of not having a new monster.
Say for instance the Chimera was the last card in play?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Lutz
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mtenda wrote:
So you can go a few rounds/cycles of not having a new monster.
Say for instance the Chimera was the last card in play?


I don't see how you mean? At the start of each cycle the monster card display is filled up, except for the first two cycles, cycle 1 has 1 card and cycle 2 has 2 cards.

BOb
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
T W

Albuquerque
New Mexico
msg tools
Ok, so say the monster track is filled up..

The very last card you draw is the Chimera...
Nobody buys the value card worth 2 coins,

The next cycle you would need to turn over a monster, but if there is not a deck to turn, do you shuffle?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Van Willis
United States
Los Angeles
California
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Mtenda wrote:
Ok, so say the monster track is filled up..

The very last card you draw is the Chimera...
Nobody buys the value card worth 2 coins,

The next cycle you would need to turn over a monster, but if there is not a deck to turn, do you shuffle?


Yes.

From page 2 of the rules-

Cyclades rules wrote:
When the draw pile is empty, shuffle the discard pile to create a new draw pile.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
T W

Albuquerque
New Mexico
msg tools
Thanks, i guess i missed that little entry, but thanks for clearing it up.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Psistakis
Greece
Attiki
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
one different question about monster deck.

Lets say you have monsters on the 4,3 and 2 coins placeholders. And lets say someone buys the 2 coin and the 3 coin monster.
At the start of the next turn you have to re-fill the empty place holders. What is the procedure?

- monster on 4 coins goes to 3 coins?
- new monster goes to 4 coin?
- 2 coins placeholder stays empty until next turn (where re-fill begins)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Phil Dawson
United Kingdom
Spalding
Lincolnshire
flag msg tools
Nothing to see here, move along
badge
Need to put something witty here
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
geodian wrote:
one different question about monster deck.

Lets say you have monsters on the 4,3 and 2 coins placeholders. And lets say someone buys the 2 coin and the 3 coin monster.
At the start of the next turn you have to re-fill the empty place holders. What is the procedure?

- monster on 4 coins goes to 3 coins?
- new monster goes to 4 coin?
- 2 coins placeholder stays empty until next turn (where re-fill begins)?


Mythological creature cards (monsters if you like) are moved to the right to fill empty spaces, before drawing new cards. So in your example the card that was sitting in the 4 coin slot will move to the 2 coin slot. The next draw will go to the 3 coin slot, and the next to the 4. Only exception being the first 2 rounds in which only 1, and then 2 cards are in play.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
George Psistakis
Greece
Attiki
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
thank you for the quick reply!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Lutz
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Ducer wrote:
geodian wrote:
one different question about monster deck.

Lets say you have monsters on the 4,3 and 2 coins placeholders. And lets say someone buys the 2 coin and the 3 coin monster.
At the start of the next turn you have to re-fill the empty place holders. What is the procedure?

- monster on 4 coins goes to 3 coins?
- new monster goes to 4 coin?
- 2 coins placeholder stays empty until next turn (where re-fill begins)?


Mythological creature cards (monsters if you like) are moved to the right to fill empty spaces, before drawing new cards. So in your example the card that was sitting in the 4 coin slot will move to the 2 coin slot. The next draw will go to the 3 coin slot, and the next to the 4. Only exception being the first 2 rounds in which only 1, and then 2 cards are in play.


Usually no one plays the card in the first cycle... but I always wondered, if someone did, I assume you would put out two cards at the start of the next cycle?

BOb
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Saturn
msg tools
actually it happened yesterday - a monster was bought in the 2nd round of the game. So What should we do at the beginning of the 3rd round?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fabien Conus
Switzerland
Geneva
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
serdel_pl wrote:
actually it happened yesterday - a monster was bought in the 2nd round of the game. So What should we do at the beginning of the 3rd round?


At the beginning of round 3, there must be 3 creatures. Therefore, you add two creatures.

It pretty simple really:

- round 1: there must be 1 creature
- round 2: there must be 2 creatures (add two if one was bought in round 1)
- round 3: there must be 3 creatures (add two or three if needed)
- round n+3: there must be 3 creatures (add one, two or three if needed)
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
John Saturn
msg tools
Sounds pretty clear, thanks :>
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Lutz
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
FabienC wrote:

It pretty simple really:

- round 1: there must be 1 creature
- round 2: there must be 2 creatures (add two if one was bought in round 1)
- round 3: there must be 3 creatures (add two or three if needed)
- round n+3: there must be 3 creatures (add one, two or three if needed)


Yep, that's probably how I would play it. KISS applies to most things in life I guess.

BOb
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Johan Haglert
Sweden
Örebro
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
willythesnitch wrote:
Once the Chimera card ends up in the discard pile, the entire deck gets reshuffled again.
But that's an FAQ rule and not game rule? In the game it's only once "fresh" pile runs out you reshuffle and put back?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
United States
Lutz
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
aliquis wrote:
willythesnitch wrote:
Once the Chimera card ends up in the discard pile, the entire deck gets reshuffled again.
But that's an FAQ rule and not game rule? In the game it's only once "fresh" pile runs out you reshuffle and put back?


It's in my rules, in the small rule book that describes the monsters:

chiMera
Take the Creature card of your choice from the discard pile and use it. Then immediately shuffle the discard pile together with the draw pile to make a new draw pile.

BOb
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrey Andreev
msg tools
mb
Vantastic wrote:
Mtenda wrote:


From page 2 of the rules-

When the draw pile is empty, shuffle the discard pile to create a new draw pile.


is this rule applied immediately when the pile becomes empty (e.g. as result of Zeus abilty) or only when you need to take creature from the pile to fill spaces on the board (e.g. during the beginning of new turn)?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Fabien Conus
Switzerland
Geneva
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Basically, the empty draw pile case will almost never happen.

Anytime the Chimera hits the discard pile, you have to reshuffle the discard pile with the draw pile. So it will never be empty.

Technically, yes, it could, in the rare case where the chimera is amongst the last three card of the draw pile, and when nobody buys it.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.