Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
3 Posts

Arkham Horror» Forums » Rules

Subject: Any phase items? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
david hume
msg tools
When can you use/cast any phase items? Do you have to use them at the beginning of a phase or could it be in the middle. So for example: could you cast an any phase spell after a horror check but prior to a combat check?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Tim Hale
United States
Delaware
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
As long as it's relevant, you can use them at any point. The cards will let you know when/if they can be used, or if certain conditions have to be met.

For instance, Flute of the Outer Gods says "Any Phase" but also says you can only use it before a combat check. So that means you can really only use it in the middle of combat, which can feasibly happen in phases 2, 3, or 4 (but also 5, but rarely). Others can be any phase, but at any time, really, such as Carcosian Page.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Bell
United States
Eugene
Oregon
flag msg tools
mbmbmbmbmb
Tim's correct. When an item says 'any phase' what it actually means is that the timing conditions are based on something other than what phase it is, reading the card should make things more clear.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.