Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

Mountain of Inferno» Forums » Rules

Subject: number of actions per-player per-turn? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Andrew Stingel
Australia
Cairns
Queensland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
the rules state: "Player may play cards from his Hand or discard 1 to 3 non-disciple cards from his Hand."

so we've been allowing each player to complete one "action" (Demon King, Princess or Red Boy attack, or placement of one Disciple) or discard 1-3 non-disciple cards each turn.

is this correct, or should a player be able to attack (possibly twice using a Princess and a Demon King) and place a Disciple in the same turn?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Jason
United States
Orlando
Florida
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
I interpret from the rules that you take as many actions as you can as you have the cards to do so. You get to refill your hand at the end of the turn anyway.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Ta-Te Wu
United States
ALHAMBRA
California
flag msg tools
designer
mbmbmbmbmb
freelunch wrote:
the rules state: "Player may play cards from his Hand or discard 1 to 3 non-disciple cards from his Hand."

so we've been allowing each player to complete one "action" (Demon King, Princess or Red Boy attack, or placement of one Disciple) or discard 1-3 non-disciple cards each turn.

is this correct, or should a player be able to attack (possibly twice using a Princess and a Demon King) and place a Disciple in the same turn?


Each player may take one action or discard in the Playing card(s) sequence.
5 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Andrew Stingel
Australia
Cairns
Queensland
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
tatewu wrote:
Each player may take one action or discard in the Playing card(s) sequence.

Thanks for clarifying :)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
I still don't fully understand this.

1. Can one discard cards, just to get different cards, without adding them to the mountain (for disciples) nor performing their action (for the others)?

2. Can one play (adding to mountain or performing action) more than 1 card in their turn, other than if it is 2 Buffalo Kings to move 1 token across 4–5 cards? For example, could one, in the same turn, instead discard 2 Buffalo Kings to move 2 different tokens across 1–3 cards each?

3. Can the Buffalo King and Iron Fan's actions be cancelled only if they move your token – or also if they do anything that affects the value of the score you're placed to get?

4. Can one use Guanyin to cancel any Red Boy action – or only any that affect the value of the score you're currently placed to get?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
The "Playing Card(s)" phase means taking exactly one of the following actions:

a. Play one (1) disciple card from your hand by adding it to the board.
b. Play either one (1) or two (2) Buffalo Demon King cards and move any player's Xuanzang token on the board the appropriate number of spaces.
c. Play one (1) Princess Iron Fan card and relocate a card that currently has a token on it to a different part of the board.
d. Play one (1) or (2) Red Boy cards to discard an unoccupied disciple card from the board.
e. Discard one (1), two (2), or three (3) non-disciple cards from your hand. The actions of these discarded cards are not performed.

Hopefully that is clear?


As for Jordan's questions:

1. Yes, discarding is possible as described above.

2. All possible card plays are described above. You cannot take an action more than once during a turn, so you cannot (for example) play one Buffalo Demon King card to affect the token of Player X and another card to affect the token of Player Y.

3. Only the player whose token is being affected can cancel an action.

4. Red Boy doesn't affect a player token, so anyone can cancel that action. It doesn't matter if it affects your score or board position.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.