Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
7 Posts

Descent: Journeys in the Dark» Forums » Rules

Subject: Necromancy and Black Curse rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Robert Ell
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
If a hero with a controlled monster (via necromancy) kills a monster with Black Curse, does the controlling hero receive a curse?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Ell
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
Also, do the necromancy pets follow their master into further floors in a RtL dungeon?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cameron Hawkins
United States
Amherst
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
1) No, because that's not what the rules say. One might make a decent argument that the monster receives the curse token, but either way, nothing would happen, since monsters don't have a conquest value to increase.

2) No, because that's not what the rules say. The definition of the RtL portal specifies that it affects heroes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Robert Ell
United States
Seattle
Washington
flag msg tools
Avatar
mb
cameronhawkins wrote:

2) No, because that's not what the rules say. The definition of the RtL portal specifies that it affects heroes.


Well, presumably familiars come through the portal with the heroes, right? How is the necromancy pet different?

And if the Necromancy pet isn't a familiar, can it be used to interfere with spawning?
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Cameron Hawkins
United States
Amherst
Massachusetts
flag msg tools
1) No, because that's not what the rules say. There are no circumstances where a familiar can leave the dungeon. Each new level is set up as its own dungeon, so the familiar again starts in its controller's space. And an animated monster is not a familiar.

2) No, because that's not what the rules say. An animated monster is not a familiar. It is not a pet. It is not a hero. It does not play for your team, and doesn't want you to win. It hasn't seen the error of its ways. It is in no way affiliated with you. It is an evil, hero-hating, overlord-loving, spawn-allowing monster in every way– except that you get to control its actions.


One of the tricks to avoiding Descent rules questions is to do as little inductive reasoning and inference as possible. Just because a component or mechanic looks or behaves like another in some (or all) ways, that does not make it the same. And just because something makes sense in real life does not make it true in Descent. Descent is insane and nonsensical, but rewards fewer assumptions.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Stephen Williams
Canada
Mississauga
Ontario
flag msg tools
Avatar
Elltrain wrote:

Well, presumably familiars come through the portal with the heroes, right? How is the necromancy pet different?

And if the Necromancy pet isn't a familiar, can it be used to interfere with spawning?


I agree with Cam that the necro'd monster cannot move through the portal, but I don't think it would be a tremendously broken house rule to let it if you want to. I would, however, insist that it not be allowed to leave the dungeon and come with the party overland. As such, it's probably better not to open Pandora's box and just leave it at "no."

A necro'd monster is still a monster, not a hero. That means it doesn't draw line of sight to prevent spawning or to reveal new areas. It also can't open doors to unrevealed areas or stop on top of an activated glyph (nor does it activate inactive glyphs if it steps on them.) It is still bound by all the rules that apply to monsters, it's just under your control instead of the OL's.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Patrick G.
United States
Glenshaw
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Does your religion have lightsabers? Nope? Didn't think so.
badge
"A person is smart. People are dumb, panicky dangerous animals." Agent K. Oh my what he would think of people had he known about what the internet would become.....
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Elltrain wrote:
If a hero with a controlled monster (via necromancy) kills a monster with Black Curse, does the controlling hero receive a curse?

No. Best way to kill something with black curse. :-D
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.