Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
9 Posts

Combat Commander: Europe» Forums » Rules

Subject: Split or Combined fire with squad and support weapon rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Gordon Watson
United Kingdom
Banstead
Surrey - United Kingdom
flag msg tools
ASL - other tactical wargames call it Sir.
badge
Beneath this mask there is an idea.....and ideas are bulletproof.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Apologies this has probably been asked before but there are a lot of rule posts to read through now:-

If you have a squad with a support weapon and it is firing eiter as Op fire or as an order - if it fires at one hex does it have to combine the two into one attack so Firepower + 1 (firegroup) or can it do two separate attacks on the same hex, one with the squad firepower thane one attack with the suppport weapon.

Thanks.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
David Bohnenberger
United States
Swarthmore
Pennsylvania
flag msg tools
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
You can do it any way you want. They can even fire at different hexes. You can use any leader bonus for both.
3 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Dweeb wrote:
You can do it any way you want. They can even fire at different hexes. You can use any leader bonus for both.

Not quite. For a Fire Order you can do it but Op Fire gives you just one shot per hex moved so you could fire one or the other or both together as a group but not two separate shots.
10 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Gordon Watson
United Kingdom
Banstead
Surrey - United Kingdom
flag msg tools
ASL - other tactical wargames call it Sir.
badge
Beneath this mask there is an idea.....and ideas are bulletproof.
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Thanks for the replies.

It doesn't quite feel right being able to fire with 2 separate attacks on one target with unit and weapon - but rules are rules.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Richard Pardoe
United States
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
domus_ludorum wrote:
It doesn't quite feel right being able to fire with 2 separate attacks on one target with unit and weapon - but rules are rules.


Can you elaborate why not? You have the inherent firepower of the unit (squad or team) which is one attack, and then you have the specific weapon also which is another attack.

I guess taking it one example - I have a squad with a flame thrower. I think it does feel right that the squad can fire here while one chap with the FT fires there. Or would you prefer that 9 men do nothing while the lone FT is fired?

I agree the analogy breaks down when it is a single hero firing a weapon where you wonder how he can fire the weapon and his own inherent fire power, but I guess that is what makes him a hero.
4 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Martin Seipp
Germany
Rastede
Niedersachsen
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Malacandra wrote:
Dweeb wrote:
You can do it any way you want. They can even fire at different hexes. You can use any leader bonus for both.

Not quite. For a Fire Order you can do it but Op Fire gives you just one shot per hex moved so you could fire one or the other or both together as a group but not two separate shots.


Keep in mind, that you can only fire non-ordnance weapons during a Op Fire.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chester
United States
Temple
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
It helps to think of the 'weapons' as both the actual weapon and the guys that are dedicated to it (so..like a 2-man crew for a machine gun, bazooka, etc). When the weapon is passed from a squad to a squad, its actually those guys that are transferring around.

So, imagine a hero running around with a couple guys in tow with a machine gun, instead of just one amazing guy carrying a big gun AND his rifle. No reason at all they can't have separate targets, although concentrating fire in a fire group will probably be more effective.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Mark Buetow
United States
McHenry
Illinois
flag msg tools
Combat Commander Archivist
badge
Move! Advance! Fire! Rout! Recover! Artillery Denied! Artillery Request! Command Confusion...say what?!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
cornjob wrote:


So, imagine a hero running around with a couple guys in tow with a machine gun, instead of just one amazing guy carrying a big gun AND his rifle.


No. That's not as cool and awesome.
2 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Chester
United States
Temple
Texas
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Malacandra wrote:
cornjob wrote:


So, imagine a hero running around with a couple guys in tow with a machine gun, instead of just one amazing guy carrying a big gun AND his rifle.


No. That's not as cool and awesome. :p

He's probably looking for the keys to his tank.
1 
 Thumb up
1.00
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.