Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
6 Posts

War of the Ring (First Edition)» Forums » General

Subject: Going to Mordor article on FF's homepage rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Are we there yet?
United States
Richmond
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
http://fantasyflightgames.com/wotrarticlesgoingtomordor.html

The author of this guide (the FAQ author), says that "I will go alone" can be played in Mordor to reduce corruption. I thought that in order to reduce corruption with this card, first you have to separate a companion, which is impossible in Mordor. Am I mistaken? Can the Fellowship "separate" a companion, thus eliminating him?
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Roberto Di Meglio
Italy
Unspecified
Unspecified
flag msg tools
designer
publisher
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Going to Mordor article on FF's homepage
bowman (#483058),
yes it is really a twisted way of using the card - but it is legal as you CAN separate companions in Mordor even if this means you lose them from the game (they are not necessarily "dead" strictly speaking, just getting out of the narrative scene)
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Are we there yet?
United States
Richmond
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
Re:Going to Mordor article on FF's homepage
cybernex (#483082),

Thanks for the confirmation. So many rules and potential language misinterpretations!!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Kristofer Bengtsson
Sweden
Kävlinge
flag msg tools
designer
War of the Ring: Official FAQ Master! Webmaster of www.warofthering.eu Author of the War of the Ring Companion
badge
- This is My Hour!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Going to Mordor article on FF's homepage
bowman (#483310),

Since it can effectually reduce Corruption by one when you Separate Pippin or Merry (don't separate a Level two Companion for one Corruption point healed) that is the best way to use it in Mordor.

Example:

Frodo is in Mordor with heavy corruption, you know that most tile will kill you but with Gollum as the Guide he might pull you through thanks to his Slinker and Stinker rule. Unfortunately you still have Pippin as the Guide and in stead of moving and absorbing one corruption with Pippin you want Gollum as the Guide due to his guide abilities.

Bottom line: One Corruption point is one Corruption point. Better to play the card and lose Pippin and get Gollum as the guide than move once with Pippin who can only reduce corruption with one, not avoid reveals.

And besides isn't it HEROIC of Pippin to sacrifice himself so Frodo gets a bigger chance of success!!?

 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Matthew M
United States
New Haven
Connecticut
flag msg tools
admin
8/8 FREE, PROTECTED
badge
513ers Assemble!
Avatar
mbmbmbmbmb
Re:Going to Mordor article on FF's homepage
However it can also be beneficial to have both Pippin and Merry in Mordor. They will soak up any eye damage they caused by being in the Fellowship in the first place, thus cancelling the effects of being there. For example, you draw a 3 corruption tile and peel off Merry to reduce it by one, then peel off Pippin (who is the new guide) to reduce it by one, THEN still have the option of using Gollum's ability (as new guide) to reduce it to nothing.

-MMM
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Are we there yet?
United States
Richmond
Virginia
flag msg tools
Avatar
Re:Going to Mordor article on FF's homepage
Octavian (#483931),

Quote:
For example, you draw a 3 corruption tile and peel off Merry to reduce it by one, then peel off Pippin (who is the new guide) to reduce it by one, THEN still have the option of using Gollum's ability (as new guide) to reduce it to nothing.


From the FAQ:

Q If a damage/Reveal tile (with no stop symbol) was pulled in Mordor and the last Guide killed to reduce the Corruption, can you then use Gollum's (him being the new Guide) ability to cancel the Reveal icon?

A No, the Reveal icon is applied at the same time as the rest of the Hunt so Gollum must be there as a the Guide beforehand.

Merry and Pippen can be seperated/eliminated to save 2 damage, but Gollum is not guide when tile is pulled.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Front Page | Welcome | Contact | Privacy Policy | Terms of Service | Advertise | Support BGG | Feeds RSS
Geekdo, BoardGameGeek, the Geekdo logo, and the BoardGameGeek logo are trademarks of BoardGameGeek, LLC.