Popular Tags: [View All]
wendigo song
United States
Claymont
Delaware
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
I am relatively new to gaming and as such not familiar with a lot of terms. My fiance uses this game as a teaching tool and since a lot of her students are playing with the cards we wanted to protect them as best as possible. I read on this board that many people sleeve the cards. I was wondering exactly what sleeving the cards meant. I assume that means putting some sort of plastic bag over them like people do with baseball cards but I just figured I'd ask to be sure. Also, if that is the case where would I be able to buy sleeves for the deck and is there any special size the sleeves need to be? Lastly how does sleeving the cards effect an individual's ability to shuffle the deck?

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Neil Wehneman
United States
Louisville
Kentucky
flag msg tools
badge
mbmbmbmbmb
harlemsushi wrote:
I am relatively new to gaming and as such not familiar with a lot of terms. My fiance uses this game as a teaching tool and since a lot of her students are playing with the cards we wanted to protect them as best as possible. I read on this board that many people sleeve the cards. I was wondering exactly what sleeving the cards meant. I assume that means putting some sort of plastic bag over them like people do with baseball cards but I just figured I'd ask to be sure. Also, if that is the case where would I be able to buy sleeves for the deck and is there any special size the sleeves need to be? Lastly how does sleeving the cards effect an individual's ability to shuffle the deck?

Wendigo:

Sleeving means placing specialty sleeves over the cards. The two main manufacturers for such sleeves are Mayday Games and Fantasy Flight.

Mayday sleeves tend to be less expensive and thinner, while Fantasy Flight tends to be more expensive and thicker. I prefer Mayday sleeves on both counts, but others have different brand preferences.