Recommend
1 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

World in Flames» Forums » Rules

Subject: CVP and pilots in overruned CV rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Rober Khan
Spain
flag msg tools
Microbadge: Level 01 BGG posterMicrobadge: Level 02 BGG poster
Hi again, wiffers!

I'm currently translating WiF RAW 7.0 into spanish, and doubts keep rising. Maybe you can give me a hand:
Per options 9 and 28, when overruning a CV "any carrier plane (and its pilot) suffer the same fate as a CV it is on". If the dice roll for this CV is a 1, which means that it switches sides and is put in the repair pool, do the CVP and it's pilot also switch sides or are they simply destroyed? I can hardly imagine those poor pilots being hired by their new masters...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Wendell
United States
Yellow Springs
Ohio
flag msg tools
Si non potes reperire Berolini in tabula, ludens essetis non WIF.
badge
Hey, get your stinking cursor off my face! I got nukes, you know.
Avatar
Microbadge: World in Flames fanMicrobadge: xkcd fanMicrobadge: 02022020 egdaborcimicrobadge 20200202Microbadge: Weird Al Yankovic fanMicrobadge: The sun doesn't want you to publish Katalyka, because it wants to be almost exactly LIKE Katalyka, but it keep it all a secret.
I looked and you have the quote correct: "(Options 9 & 28: Any carrier plane (and its pilot) suffer the same fate as a CV it is on.)."

So yes, by that the over-running side WOULD get a pilot. I don't think it represents captured enemies chained to the aircraft and forced to fly.

But it is difficult to rationalize, even for me.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rober Khan
Spain
flag msg tools
Microbadge: Level 01 BGG posterMicrobadge: Level 02 BGG poster
I copy-pasted it, it can't be incorrect

Yeah, I suppose it's one of the few little thing in WiF that needs a retouch. I would just house rule it to destruction of plane and pilot. Utilizing captured foreign aircraft without the big logistic and technical support needed to do it sounds quite odd. Unless ground personnel is also convinced in some weird way to help...
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Steve Fowler
United States
cedar rapids
Iowa
flag msg tools
Avatar
Microbadge: World in Flames fanMicrobadge: Green Bay Packers fanMicrobadge: Twilight Imperium fanMicrobadge: NCAA Iowa Hawkeyes fanMicrobadge: Titan fan
Wendel, the FAQ says the Pilot is destroyed.

Q11.11-6 11.11.6 11.11.6 Overrunning Naval units: say
"(Options 9 & 28: Any carrier plane (and its
pilot) suffer the same fate as a CV it is
on.)."
Question
What happens to the plane and pilot when
you capture their CV or CVL?
Harry Rowland's Answer
The pilot is destroyed and the carrier plane
is placed in the capturing major power's
Reserve Pool. Date 24/11/2008
RAW7aug04 Rule Quote
11.11.6: If you roll a ‘1’, the enemy major power takes
control of it until destroyed (option 46: partisans
destroy naval units instead of taking control). Place it in
the Repair pool.
(…)
(Options 9 & 28: Any carrier plane (and its pilot) suffer
the same fate as a CV it is on.)
24/11/2008
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Rober Khan
Spain
flag msg tools
Microbadge: Level 01 BGG posterMicrobadge: Level 02 BGG poster
The plane is placed in the capturing power Reserve Pool? That's interesting. Thank you!
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls