Subject: My Cost To Create A Professional RPG Game (is it too expensive)? rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
A L
United States
Anderson
South Carolina
flag msg tools
I'm a beginner in board game design. I wouldn't say I'm that bad either. I've designed a print and play game with a pretty cool mechanic, I just have to play test it, but I'm sure it'll be good. I'm very excited about it.

Anyways on to my question. I'm interested in designing an RPG board game but the cost it will take me to create it will be high and I was wondering how much you board game RPG fanatics would pay for such a game that you knew you liked?

My idea will take 1-2 books that have at least 400 color pages each with lots of pictures and different color text and maybe around 500-1000 playing cards. All this sort of stuff will cost me about 200-250 and if I'm successful in making a good fun game that's still a lot of dough to produce! I'd have to re-sell it for a minimum of like $350!

That seems astronomical to me! and I was just wondering if there were people out there that would even consider paying that kinda money for an RPG game???

I heard that to get all the rule books for D&D it can get kinda costly, up to a few hundred so I know there are expensive games out there but I'm just wondering, because my retail price seems steep, super duper steep lol

Let me know your thoughts.

Thanks

Oh yeah. One last question. How complex do you think an RPG is allowed to go? Just give me ur thoughts.

Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
EnderWizard
United States
Niskayuna
New York
flag msg tools
There is only one god and his name is Death. And there is only one thing we say to Death...
badge
Microbadge: Phish fanMicrobadge: Coheed and Cambria fanMicrobadge: Umphrey's Mcgee fanMicrobadge: moe. fanMicrobadge: Disco Biscuits fan