Recommend
 
 Thumb up
 Hide
5 Posts

A la carte: Dessert» Forums » Rules

Subject: Completing 5 dishes rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Matt Smith
United States
Troy
Michigan
flag msg tools
It's a love/hate relationship.
badge
Check out my board game instructional videos on my YouTube channel: "The Game Explainer".
Avatar
Microbadge: TapestryMicrobadge: Dinosaur Island fanMicrobadge: Terraforming Mars fanMicrobadge: Parent of One BoyMicrobadge: Game Explainer
When taking a new dish, the rule in the base game says to take a dish of a type you haven't already completed, unless that's not possible. When using the expansion, there are 5 types of dishes. Does this mean you have to complete one of each of the 5 types to have the game end this way?

I'm just trying to ensure the dessert dishes aren't considered optional for the purpose of completing 5 dishes.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Michael Mesich
United States
Minneapolis
Minnesota
flag msg tools
Horta chortles.
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: High Frontier fan - Your trip ends here!Microbadge: TSR fanMicrobadge: Backgammon fanMicrobadge: Golden MeepleMicrobadge: Carson City: Gold & Guns fan
There are already 5 colors in the base game.

When dishes burn or get overseasoned, they get thrown in the trash. This allows for the chance for a color of recipes to be gone before you get to them. That's how you may wind up making a color you've already made.
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Markus Rathgeb
Germany
Erbach
flag msg tools
badge
Avatar
Microbadge: Shadows over Camelot fanMicrobadge: Among the Stars fanMicrobadge: Sirlin Games Yomi Contest participantMicrobadge: Sit Down! "Rockwell" Contest participantMicrobadge: Agricola fan
Additionally you have a sixth color: the Pan Cake, which counts towards th 5 dishes you need.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Brian Brokaw
United States
Hillsboro
Oregon
flag msg tools
badge
It's not a damn moped!
Avatar
Microbadge: Eclipse fan - Missile EnvyMicrobadge: Kemet fanMicrobadge: Rondel fanMicrobadge: Shadow of the Colossus fanMicrobadge: Curling fan
Scayra wrote:
Additionally you have a sixth color: the Pan Cake, which counts towards th 5 dishes you need.
The Crepe does not count towards the 5 dish end-game trigger. This is stated in the rules.
 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Dan C
United States
Florida
flag msg tools
Microbadge: Star Wars fanMicrobadge: Piano fanMicrobadge: ChristianMicrobadge: Level 07 BGG posterMicrobadge: El Grande fan
Quote:
The Crepe does not count towards the 5 dish end-game trigger. This is stated in the rules.
Which version of the rules are you reading?

From the English rules, see highlighted

Quote:
End of game
“A la carte” ends, when:
- a player is unable to place a new dish in his or
her pan or
- a player has finished 5 dishes (crêpes do count
as dishes
) or
- a player has collected 3 stars
1 
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls