Subject: Learning & Mastering the La Bataille System rss

Your Tags: Add tags
Popular Tags: [View All]
Joe Forjan
United States
Hicksville
New York
flag msg tools
Microbadge: WoodworkerMicrobadge: Gun collectorMicrobadge: Gun ownerMicrobadge: Napoleonic WargamerMicrobadge: Wargamer - WW2: European Theater
Hello all, hope this is the place to ask the questions.

I'm new to the la bataille system and have picked up a few games with the intention of eventually being able to 'master' it. I play solo and have in the past played some miniatures. To date, I have the following:

La Bataille :
de Orthez
Quatre Bras
de Preussisch - Eylau
Corunna - Espagnol
Lutzen
D'Albuera - Espagnol

and planning to pick a few more. I purchased a copy of the XXII regs, and I have downloaded the XXX pdf.

What I would like to know from any la bat experienced players out there, which of these is the easiest to learn the system with or is there another game that would be better to start with. I was told a while back that Orthez would be a good bet, but I acquired the 2 Espagnol games in the meantime and was wondering if that changes anything. How did you get into and learn the system. Also, does the version of rules have any bearing on learning the system.

Any help would be appreciated. Since I have become newly disabled, I'm going to have a lot of time on my hands. Already eyeing the scotch and cigars. I figured a good game would cover my excuse.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
I would definately start with the Regs XXX and pick a game where the exclusive rules are ready for download.

I've only played Quatres Bras 2, but it was much easier learning the system with Regs XXX compared to Regs XXII.
 Thumb up
 tip
 Hide
  • [+] Dice rolls
Padraic Kirby
United States
Crown Point
Indiana
flag msg tools
badge
Microbadge: GrognardMicrobadge: Arsenal fanMicrobadge: Miniatures GamerMicrobadge: Golden Board Game CollectorMicrobadge: Byzantine Empire fan